Skip to content
RideontoyGuide

Best licensed 12V truck

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado review

A licensed Chevrolet with a bed that holds real things — which is the feature that keeps a ride-on in use after the novelty of driving fades.

Written by

Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media

Published November 1, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing

How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.

Price checked November 8, 2026

Best Choice Products is the value brand in this category, and the Silverado is its strongest licensed product. The reason to pick it over a car at the same price is not the badge — it is the bed.

The bed

Why it matters more than it sounds

A child with a working truck bed loads it, drives somewhere, unloads it, and repeats. A child with a car drives in circles. The second one gets bored considerably faster, and that is the single biggest predictor of whether a ride-on is still in use in six months.

This one opens and holds actual toys, which is the distinction to check: some beds are molded shut and purely cosmetic. “Truck bed storage” in a listing means it opens; “truck styling” may not. See best ride-on trucks.

One caution: a load in the bed counts against the 66 lb weight limit. With a 50 lb child that leaves 16 lb, which is less sand than a four-year-old will want to carry.

The specs

What it publishes, and the surprise

2.5 mph, which is at walking pace — the right speed for a three-to-five-year-old, and slow enough that an adult can always reach the vehicle.

66 lb, stated plainly. With an average three-year-old at 31 lb that is about four years of use.

Up to one hour of run time, published — and here is the surprise. The genuine Fisher-Price Power Wheels vehicle in our registry does not publish a run time at all. On this specification the value brand is ahead of the premium one, which is worth knowing before you assume price tracks disclosure. See Power Wheels vs Best Choice Products.

The gap

No capacity, so no way to check

No amp-hour figure is published, which means the one-hour claim cannot be cross-checked. A 12V 4.5Ah pack would manage roughly an hour under light use; a 7Ah pack would manage more. Without the number you are taking the claim on trust.

Nor is there an age range or a charge time. Five of nine specs published is a middling result — better than the Power Wheels and well behind the best generics, which manage eight. See run time and charging.

Controls

The remote, and what it does

The remote has forward/reverse and left/right, which is full directional control rather than just a stop button. The listing does not state whether remote mode overrides the pedal, so test that in the driveway before trusting it — on weaker implementations a determined four-year-old can out-pedal your stop command. See how the parent remote works.

Who it suits

The right buyer

A three-to-five-year-old who likes trucks, on pavement or short grass, where the parents want a remote. At this price with a licensed body, a working bed, a published run time and a 66 lb limit, it is a sensible purchase.

Not the right buy for a six-year-old — 2.5 mph is too slow and 66 lb is close to the limit. For that, a 24V truck at 130 lb and 4.3 mph is the step up. See ride-on toys for 6-year-olds.

Every pick in full

The spec sheet

Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.

#1 · The vehicle

8.2 / 10

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado

Best Choice Products

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado — Best Choice Products kids ride-on toy
$229.99View on Amazon

$269.99 list — 15% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Licensed Chevrolet with a usable truck bed, 2.5 mph and a stated one-hour run time.

2.5 mph, a 66 lb limit, a published one-hour run time and a truck bed that actually stores toys. Five of nine specs, with the bed being the reason to choose it over a car.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed2.5 mph
Weight limit66 lb
Run timeUp to 1 hr
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age rangeNot stated by maker

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Utility9.0
  • Parent control8.5
  • Run time8.0
  • Spec disclosure7.5
  • Value8.0

What works

  • Truck bed that actually holds toys
  • Run time published at up to 1 hr
  • Remote has forward/reverse and left/right
  • Seat harness with locking doors

What doesn’t

  • No capacity figure, so the 1 hr claim can't be cross-checked
  • No stated age range
  • 2.5 mph is at the slow end for the size

Questions parents ask

Frequently asked questions

Does the Best Choice Products Silverado truck bed open?
Yes, and it holds real toys — which is the reason to pick it over a car at the same price. A child who can load and unload keeps using the vehicle long after driving in circles has worn off.
How fast is the 12V Chevy Silverado ride-on?
2.5 mph, published, which is at adult walking pace. That makes it one of the gentler 12V vehicles and a reasonable first powered ride-on for a three-year-old.
How long does it run per charge?
Up to one hour, published. No amp-hour capacity is stated so the claim cannot be cross-checked — a 4.5Ah pack would manage about an hour under light use and a 7Ah pack more.
What age is the 12V Silverado for?
Three to five on the 66 lb weight limit, though no age range is published. At 2.5 mph it will feel slow to a six-year-old, and 66 lb is close to the limit for one.
Does it publish more specs than a genuine Power Wheels?
On run time, yes — this publishes one hour where the Fisher-Price vehicle publishes none. Overall it is five of nine specs against four, so the value brand edges the premium one on disclosure here.

Where these numbers come from

Sources

Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.

Read next