Best 12V batteries
Best 12V ride-on batteries
Three things have to match: voltage exactly, capacity upwards only, and the connector. The third one is what catches people.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 17, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
Three things have to match: voltage exactly, capacity upwards only, and the connector. The third one is what catches people.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere Biggest capacity | Longest 12V run time | 8.4out of 10 | $65.98Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() 12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal) Best value upgrade | 7Ah to 12Ah capacity upgrade | 8.3out of 10 | $39.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery Best genuine part | Genuine Power Wheels replacement | 8.4out of 10 | $74.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() 12V 7Ah Replacement Battery for Power Wheels Cheapest straight swap | Cheapest 12V 7Ah swap | 8.3out of 10 | $43.23Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego Best plug-and-play | Peg Perego plug-and-play | 8.3out of 10 | $49.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger Best lithium | Lithium swap at 12V | 8.2out of 10 | $49.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() Mighty Max 12V 7Ah Battery Kit with Harness Best with a harness | Replacing a damaged connector too | 8.3out of 10 | $42.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
A ride-on that runs for ten minutes and stops has a tired battery, not a broken motor. Sealed lead-acid loses capacity with every cycle and typically reaches the end of its usable life at two to three years, which is the single most common reason a perfectly good ride-on stops being used.
The fix is $40 to $75. Here is how to buy the right one.
The three rules
What has to match
1. Voltage, exactly. 12V means 12V. A 6V battery will not move the vehicle; a 24V battery will run the motors and speed controller well outside what they were designed and certified for.
2. Capacity, upwards only. Amp-hours determine run time, and more is better provided the battery physically fits the tray. Our registry includes 12V packs at 7Ah, 10Ah, 12Ah and 15Ah — and going from a stock 7Ah to a 12Ah is roughly 70% more play time for about $40. Never go down.
3. The connector. This is the one that catches people, and it is covered below.
Connectors
The four types, and how to tell
| Connector | Used by | What to buy |
|---|---|---|
| Gray / orange plug | Power Wheels 12V | Genuine pack, or a generic SLA plus a PW-12S harness |
| Blue plug | Power Wheels 6V, Peg Perego | A pack with the matching plug pre-fitted |
| Bare F1 / F2 terminals | Most generic 12V cars | Any SLA of the right size, plus your existing harness |
| Proprietary wired pack | Kid Trax, some 24V | A set with named compatibility for your vehicle |
If the connector is wrong, it is a $13 harness rather than a dead end — our registry includes a PW-12S connector pre-wired in 14AWG specifically so a cheap generic SLA can be fitted to a Power Wheels vehicle. See replacement parts by brand.
Lead-acid or lithium
The chemistry decision
Sealed lead-acid (SLA/AGM) is the default: cheap, spill-proof in any orientation, and tolerant of being left on a shelf. It is also heavy and slow to charge — 8 to 12 hours for 45 to 90 minutes of play.
Lithium is lighter, charges far faster, tolerates partial charging without losing capacity, and lasts more cycles. It costs more and requires its own charger — the pack in our registry ships with one for exactly that reason. See run time and charging.
Measure first
The practical check
A 12Ah battery is physically larger than a 7Ah one. Before ordering an upgrade, measure the battery tray in all three dimensions and check how the battery is retained — a strap or a molded recess. A pack that is 15mm too tall will not sit under the seat.
Then confirm the terminal orientation: F1 and F2 terminals differ in width and some trays only allow the leads to come off one side. See 7Ah vs 10Ah vs 12Ah for the full capacity comparison, and battery replacement for the step-by-step.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Biggest capacity
8.4 / 10
Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere
Dimyfiny

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
15Ah is the largest 12V capacity here — the run-time fix for a Peg Perego tractor that dies before the child is bored.
15Ah is the largest 12V capacity in our registry — roughly double a stock 7Ah pack, which is roughly double the run time. Listed specifically for Peg Perego John Deere tractors.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity10.0
- Compatibility8.0
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- 15Ah — the largest 12V capacity in the registry
- Listed specifically for Peg Perego John Deere tractors
- Roughly double the stock capacity
- Extended run time without touching the drivetrain
What doesn’t
- Bigger and heavier — confirm your battery tray takes it
- Charge time not published, and 15Ah takes longer
- Peg Perego-specific fitment
#2 · Best value upgrade
8.3 / 10
12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal)
MLGBDC

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A bare 12V 12Ah AGM cell with F1 terminals — the capacity upgrade if your vehicle came with 7Ah and has room in the tray.
A bare 12V 12Ah AGM cell with F1 terminals for under $40 — about 70% more run time than a stock 7Ah. You supply the harness, which is a $13 part.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity9.0
- Compatibility7.5
- Value9.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- 12Ah against a stock 7Ah is roughly 70% more run time
- AGM construction — sealed and spill-proof in any orientation
- Standard F1 terminals
- Cheapest route to more run time
What doesn’t
- Bare terminals: you supply the wiring harness and connector
- Physically larger than a 7Ah — measure the tray first
- Charge time not published
#3 · Best genuine part
8.4 / 10
Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The genuine Fisher-Price gray-top 12V 12Ah pack, and the only one whose charging instructions come from the vehicle's own maker.
The genuine Fisher-Price gray-top 12Ah pack with charge windows published in detail, including the first-charge case. Costs double a third-party equivalent and fits for certain.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity9.0
- Compatibility10.0
- Value6.5
- Spec disclosure8.5
What works
- Genuine Fisher-Price part — guaranteed connector fit
- 12Ah is the largest capacity Power Wheels fits
- Charge windows published, including the first-charge case
- Sold with the correct gray connector
What doesn’t
- Costs roughly twice a third-party equivalent
- An 18-hour normal charge is a long time
- Only fits vehicles that use the gray-top pack
#4 · Cheapest straight swap
8.3 / 10
12V 7Ah Replacement Battery for Power Wheels
Xozoyo

The cheapest straight 12V 7Ah swap for Power Wheels-style vehicles — right capacity, right connector, a third of the genuine price.
A 12V 7Ah replacement at a third of the genuine price, with stated Power Wheels compatibility. The right buy when you want like-for-like rather than an upgrade.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity7.0
- Compatibility8.5
- Value9.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- Matches the 7Ah capacity most 12V ride-ons ship with
- Fraction of the genuine-part price
- Stated Power Wheels compatibility
- Sealed lead-acid, so no maintenance
What doesn’t
- Charge time is not published — use the vehicle's own charger spec
- Third-party, so no vehicle-maker warranty
- Check your connector type before ordering
#5 · Best plug-and-play
8.3 / 10
Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego
Raion Power

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A plug-and-play 12Ah replacement with the Peg Perego blue connector already fitted — no splicing.
12Ah AGM with the Peg Perego blue connector already fitted, so there is no splicing. Cheaper than the branded pack at the same capacity.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity9.0
- Compatibility9.0
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- Peg Perego blue plug pre-fitted — genuinely plug-and-play
- 12Ah AGM
- Cheaper than the Peg Perego branded pack
- Fits across the Peg Perego 12V range
What doesn’t
- Peg Perego-specific connector, so no use on other brands
- Charge time not published
- Third-party, no Peg Perego warranty
#6 · Best lithium
8.2 / 10
UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger
UNIKARO

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Lithium instead of lead-acid at 12V 7Ah, with the matching charger included — lighter, and it tolerates partial charging.
Lithium at 12V 7Ah with its own charger included — markedly lighter, far quicker to charge, and it tolerates partial charges without losing capacity.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity7.0
- Compatibility7.5
- Value7.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- Lithium: markedly lighter than an equivalent SLA pack
- Charger included, which matters — lithium needs its own
- Tolerates partial charges without losing capacity
- Longer cycle life than lead-acid
What doesn’t
- Needs the supplied charger; a lead-acid charger will not do
- Charge time not published
- Costs more than an SLA pack of the same capacity
#7 · Best with a harness
8.3 / 10
Mighty Max 12V 7Ah Battery Kit with Harness
Mighty Max Battery

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Battery plus harness in one box — the right buy when the old connector is corroded or melted rather than just flat.
Battery plus harness in one box, which is the right buy when the old connector is corroded or melted rather than just the battery flat.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Capacity7.0
- Compatibility9.0
- Value8.0
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- Harness included — fixes a melted or corroded connector at the same time
- Mighty Max is a known battery brand with real support
- Standard 12V 7Ah
- Drop-in kit rather than a bare cell
What doesn’t
- Charge time not published
- Costs more than a bare battery
- You still need to match the harness to your vehicle's plug
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What battery does a 12V ride-on car use?
Can I put a bigger battery in a ride-on car?
How do I know which connector my ride-on uses?
Is a lithium battery better for a ride-on?
How long should a 12V ride-on battery last?
Can I use a car battery in a ride-on toy?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- Battery Council International — lead-acid battery care
- CPSC — product safety guidance and recalls
- UL Solutions — product certification and the UL Listed mark
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next