Skip to content
RideontoyGuide

Battery upgrades

Ride-on battery upgrades

The best value change available to a ride-on, and the one thing we would do to almost any vehicle. Also the place where one popular upgrade is a bad idea.

Written by

Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media

Published November 2, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing

How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.

Price checked November 8, 2026

Verdict first

Quick picks

The best value change available to a ride-on, and the one thing we would do to almost any vehicle. Also the place where one popular upgrade is a bad idea.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.

Ranked picks with each model’s score, who it suits and its current Amazon price
#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal)

12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal)

Best value upgrade

7Ah to 12Ah capacity upgrade8.4out of 10$39.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

2
Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere

Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere

Biggest capacity

Longest 12V run time8.4out of 10$65.98Amazon

#ad disclosure

3
UNIKARO 24V 12Ah Li-ion Battery

UNIKARO 24V 12Ah Li-ion Battery

Best 24V upgrade

Biggest 24V capacity upgrade8.5out of 10$140.98Amazon

#ad disclosure

4
UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger

UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger

Best lithium swap

Lithium swap at 12V8.3out of 10$49.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

5
SafeAMP 6V Battery for Power Wheels (2-Pack)

SafeAMP 6V Battery for Power Wheels (2-Pack)

Best second-pack option

6V spare pair8.2out of 10$34.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.

If we could make one change to almost any ride-on in this registry, it would be a bigger battery. It is cheap, it is reversible, it requires no modification to the vehicle, and it addresses the complaint parents actually have — which is never “too slow” and almost always “it stops too soon”.

Upgrade 1

More capacity (best value)

Same voltage, more amp-hours. Our registry has 12V packs at 7Ah, 10Ah, 12Ah and 15Ah, and at 24V there are 7Ah and 12Ah options.

The headline step is 7Ah to 12Ah: about 70% more run time for roughly $40, which is close to what a like-for-like replacement costs anyway. If the battery has died and needs replacing, this is the obvious move rather than an extravagance.

The only constraint is physical. A 12Ah pack is taller and longer than a 7Ah one, so measure the tray in all three dimensions and check how it is retained. Full detail on 7Ah vs 10Ah vs 12Ah.

Upgrade 2

Lithium (fixes a different problem)

Worth being precise about what lithium buys, because it is often sold as more run time and that is not what it mainly does.

What it fixes: charge time (4 to 6 hours against 8 to 12), weight (substantially lighter at the same capacity), tolerance of partial charging, and cycle life.

What it does not fix: run time, at the same amp-hour rating. A 12V 7Ah lithium pack stores the same energy as a 12V 7Ah lead-acid one.

So lithium is the answer if the ten-to-one charging ratio is your problem, or if the pack is heavy to lift out, or if nobody in the house will reliably charge after every session. It requires its own charger — non-negotiable, and a fire risk if ignored. See run time and charging.

Upgrade 3

A second battery (best for a long afternoon)

Two packs and one charger gives continuous play: run one while the other charges. No fitment question at all, since the second pack is identical to the first.

The arithmetic works well at 6V, where a two-pack costs less than a single 12V battery, and reasonably at 12V. At 24V the packs cost over $100 each and buying a larger single capacity is better value. See best 24V ride-on batteries.

Do not

The upgrade not to do

Do not fit a higher-voltage battery. A 24V pack in a 12V vehicle will make it faster, and people do it, and it is a bad idea for three specific reasons:

  • The motors and speed controller are rated for 12V. At 24V they run hot and fail, usually the controller first.
  • The gearboxes and wheel hubs see roughly double the torque, which rounds the nylon teeth and cracks the hubs — and a wheel hub splitting at speed is the one ride-on failure that can injure someone.
  • The vehicle now exceeds the speed it was designed and certified to, with a child in it and brakes sized for the original speed.

If more speed is genuinely the goal, a motor and gearbox change is the controlled version of that decision and we cover it honestly — including when not to — on motor upgrades.

Every pick in full

The picks, in detail

Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.

#1 · Best value upgrade

8.4 / 10

12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal)

MLGBDC

12V 12Ah Sealed Lead-Acid Battery (F1 Terminal) — MLGBDC kids ride-on toy
$39.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A bare 12V 12Ah AGM cell with F1 terminals — the capacity upgrade if your vehicle came with 7Ah and has room in the tray.

12Ah AGM for under $40 against a stock 7Ah — about 70% more run time for roughly the price of a like-for-like replacement. The single best change available.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity12Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Capacity9.0
  • Value9.5
  • Compatibility7.5
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • 12Ah against a stock 7Ah is roughly 70% more run time
  • AGM construction — sealed and spill-proof in any orientation
  • Standard F1 terminals
  • Cheapest route to more run time

What doesn’t

  • Bare terminals: you supply the wiring harness and connector
  • Physically larger than a 7Ah — measure the tray first
  • Charge time not published

#2 · Biggest capacity

8.4 / 10

Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere

Dimyfiny

Upgraded 12V 15Ah Battery for Peg Perego John Deere — Dimyfiny kids ride-on toy
$65.98View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

15Ah is the largest 12V capacity here — the run-time fix for a Peg Perego tractor that dies before the child is bored.

15Ah, the largest 12V capacity here — roughly double a stock 7Ah. Listed for Peg Perego John Deere tractors, where the tray has the room for it.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity15Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Capacity10.0
  • Value8.5
  • Compatibility8.0
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • 15Ah — the largest 12V capacity in the registry
  • Listed specifically for Peg Perego John Deere tractors
  • Roughly double the stock capacity
  • Extended run time without touching the drivetrain

What doesn’t

  • Bigger and heavier — confirm your battery tray takes it
  • Charge time not published, and 15Ah takes longer
  • Peg Perego-specific fitment

#3 · Best 24V upgrade

8.5 / 10

UNIKARO 24V 12Ah Li-ion Battery

UNIKARO

UNIKARO 24V 12Ah Li-ion Battery — UNIKARO kids ride-on toy
$140.98View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The biggest upgrade available here: 24V at 12Ah in lithium, against the 7Ah lead-acid most two-seaters ship with.

24V 12Ah in lithium against the 7Ah lead-acid most two-seaters ship with. Roughly 70% more run time, far lighter, and much quicker to charge.

The nine specs

Voltage24V
Battery capacity12Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Capacity10.0
  • Value7.0
  • Compatibility7.5
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • 12Ah against a stock 7Ah — roughly 70% more run time
  • Lithium, so much lighter than a 12Ah SLA would be
  • Suits 24V two-seaters that run out of charge too quickly
  • Long cycle life

What doesn’t

  • Needs a lithium-compatible charger
  • Most expensive battery in the registry
  • Charge time not published

#4 · Best lithium swap

8.3 / 10

UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger

UNIKARO

UNIKARO 12V 7Ah Li-ion Battery Pack with Charger — UNIKARO kids ride-on toy
$49.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Lithium instead of lead-acid at 12V 7Ah, with the matching charger included — lighter, and it tolerates partial charging.

Lithium at the same 7Ah capacity with its own charger included — the upgrade when charging time rather than run time is the problem.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity7Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Capacity7.0
  • Value7.5
  • Compatibility7.5
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • Lithium: markedly lighter than an equivalent SLA pack
  • Charger included, which matters — lithium needs its own
  • Tolerates partial charges without losing capacity
  • Longer cycle life than lead-acid

What doesn’t

  • Needs the supplied charger; a lead-acid charger will not do
  • Charge time not published
  • Costs more than an SLA pack of the same capacity

#5 · Best second-pack option

8.2 / 10

SafeAMP 6V Battery for Power Wheels (2-Pack)

SafeAMP

SafeAMP 6V Battery for Power Wheels (2-Pack) — SafeAMP kids ride-on toy
$34.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Two 6V 4Ah blue-top packs for the price of one genuine — the sensible buy when a 6V vehicle needs a spare.

Two 6V packs for about the price of one genuine. At 6V a spare battery gives continuous play for less than a 12V single pack costs.

The nine specs

Voltage6V
Battery capacity4Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Capacity6.0
  • Value9.5
  • Compatibility8.0
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • Two packs, so one charges while the other runs
  • Blue-connector Power Wheels compatibility stated
  • Much cheaper per pack than genuine
  • Sealed lead-acid

What doesn’t

  • 4Ah is less than the genuine 9.5Ah red pack
  • Blue-connector vehicles only
  • Charge time not published

Questions parents ask

Frequently asked questions

What is the best upgrade for a ride-on car?
A bigger battery. 7Ah to 12Ah is roughly 70% more run time for about $40, which is close to what a like-for-like replacement costs anyway. It requires no modification and is fully reversible.
Will a bigger battery make my ride-on faster?
No. More amp-hours at the same voltage means a longer session at the same speed. Speed comes from voltage and motor specification, and raising the voltage runs the motors and controller outside their design.
Can I put a 24V battery in a 12V ride-on?
You can and you should not. The motors and speed controller are rated for 12V and will run hot and fail; the gearboxes and wheel hubs see double the torque; and the vehicle exceeds the speed it was certified to, with brakes sized for the original.
Is a lithium battery worth it for a ride-on?
If charge time or weight is your problem, yes — 4 to 6 hours against 8 to 12, substantially lighter, and tolerant of partial charging. It does not give more run time at the same amp-hour rating, and it needs its own charger.
Should I buy a second ride-on battery?
At 6V, almost certainly — a two-pack costs less than a single 12V battery and gives continuous play. At 12V it is reasonable. At 24V the packs cost over $100 each, so a larger single capacity is better value.

Where these numbers come from

Sources

Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.

Read next