Best for 5-year-olds
Best ride-on toys for 5-year-olds
Five is the crossover year. A 66 lb 12V car still fits, but a 24V vehicle will last twice as long and go fast enough to stay interesting.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 25, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
Five is the crossover year. A 66 lb 12V car still fits, but a 24V vehicle will last twice as long and go fast enough to stay interesting.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Firstness 24V 2-Seater Ride-On with Remote Best overall | 3-8 years, cheapest complete 24V | 8.8out of 10 | $260.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno Best 12V option | 3-6 years, complete spec sheet | 8.5out of 10 | $149.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() JOYRACER 24V 2-Seater Ride-On with 800W Motors Widest seat | Two riders, widest bench | 8.6out of 10 | $269.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor Best 12V documentation | Best-documented 12V truck | 8.6out of 10 | $209.90Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Best Choice Products 12V Ride-On UTV with Trailer Best for yard work play | Age 3+, hauling play | 8.1out of 10 | $149.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() Costzon Kids ATV 12V Best quad | 3-7 years, highest 12V quad limit | 8.3out of 10 | $174.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
Five is the age at which a 12V car bought today may only have a year or two of real use in it, and a 24V vehicle bought today will still be right at nine. That is the whole decision on this page, and it is an arithmetic one rather than a taste one.
The arithmetic
12V or 24V at five
An average five-year-old weighs about 41 lb and one at the 90th percentile about 52 lb. Run the numbers at 4 to 6 lb of growth per year:
- 66 lb 12V car: an average child reaches the limit at about nine, a large child at about seven. But the speed — usually 2.5 to 3 mph — will bore them well before that.
- 110 lb 24V vehicle: an average child reaches the limit in their teens. The 4 to 5 mph speed holds interest to about nine or ten.
- 130 lb 24V vehicle: outlasts the interest entirely.
So the honest framing is: 12V at five is a two-to-three-year purchase, and 24V at five is a four-to-five-year one, at roughly double the price. The 24V arithmetic is usually better per year. The full comparison is on 12V vs 24V.
Seat width
The constraint nobody publishes
At five, seat width starts to matter as much as weight. The vehicles in our registry that publish it span 15 to 22 inches:
- 15 in — a 12V single-seater. Comfortable at five, tight at six.
- 19 to 20 in — the standard 24V bench. One five-year-old with room, or two smaller children.
- 21 to 22 in — the widest here. Two five-year-olds comfortably.
Most listings publish nothing, in which case overall length is the proxy: under 40 inches is a small vehicle. A five-year-old whose knees hit the dashboard will stop using the car whatever the weight limit says.
Interest
Keeping it interesting past six
The limiting factor at this age is usually boredom rather than fit, and two things genuinely extend the useful life. The first is a wide speed band — a vehicle that can be opened up next year is a vehicle that still gets used next year. The second is a function: a trailer, a dump bed, a loader bucket. A five-year-old who can tow things keeps using the vehicle long after driving in circles has stopped being interesting.
See do kids outgrow ride-on toys for the longer treatment, and tractors and diggers for the vehicles with a job to do.
Adjacent ages: 4-year-olds and 6-year-olds.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Best overall
8.8 / 10
Firstness 24V 2-Seater Ride-On with Remote
Firstness

The cheapest 24V two-seater here that still publishes capacity, speed, run time and weight limit together.
The cheapest 24V two-seater that still publishes capacity, speed, run time and weight limit together. 110 lb and 5 mph means it is still right at eight, not just at five.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 59.5
- Longevity9.5
- Spec disclosure8.5
- Parent control8.5
- Value9.0
What works
- Seven of nine specs published
- 4 x 200W motors stated (the 800W headline figure)
- 110 lb limit across two seats
- ~60 min run time stated against a 7Ah pack
What doesn’t
- Charge time not published
- 5 mph needs the remote at the bottom of the age range
- Unlicensed bodywork
#2 · Best 12V option
8.5 / 10
Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno
Winado

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Eight of the nine specs are published, including the charge-to-run ratio most brands won't print: 8-12 hours in, 1-2 hours out.
If 12V is the budget, this is the one: 4.3 mph is the quickest 12V single-seater here, and both run time and charge time are published.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 58.5
- Longevity7.5
- Spec disclosure9.0
- Parent control8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- Both run time and charge time published — rare at any price
- Hydraulic doors that actually swing up
- Remote gives 3 speeds, manual gives 2
- 4.3 mph is the quickest 12V single-seater here
What doesn’t
- 4.3 mph is fast for the bottom of the stated 3-6 range
- Amp-hour capacity is not published
- 8-12 hr charge is a full overnight
#3 · Widest seat
8.6 / 10
JOYRACER 24V 2-Seater Ride-On with 800W Motors
JOYRACER

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A 21-inch bench seat is the headline spec — the widest in the registry, and the reason two children actually fit.
A 21-inch bench — the widest in our registry — on a 110 lb limit with 800W of motors. At five, the extra seat width is what makes a friend riding along actually work.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 59.0
- Longevity9.0
- Spec disclosure8.0
- Parent control8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- 21-inch seat — widest here, published in inches
- 4 x 200W motors (800W total)
- 1-2 hr run time from a 7Ah pack
- 110 lb limit stated
What doesn’t
- Top speed is not published on an 800W vehicle
- No stated age range
- Charge time not published
#4 · Best 12V documentation
8.6 / 10
Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor
Seizeen

The best-documented 12V truck here: a real speed range, a real run-time range, and a seat width stated in inches.
The 15-inch seat width is the number that matters at five — it is comfortable to about five and tight after. Published, which almost nothing else manages.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 58.5
- Longevity7.5
- Spec disclosure9.5
- Parent control9.0
- Value8.5
What works
- Seven of nine specs published, with real ranges rather than round numbers
- 70-110 min run time from a 12V 7Ah pack
- 3-point seatbelt and 4-wheel suspension
- Remote has 3 speeds plus an emergency brake
What doesn’t
- No stated age range
- Charge time not published
- 2.7 mph will feel slow to a six-year-old
#5 · Best for yard work play
8.1 / 10
Best Choice Products 12V Ride-On UTV with Trailer
Best Choice Products

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A detachable trailer turns a UTV into a yard-work toy, and the 60-minute run time is published.
A detachable trailer turns the vehicle into a tool, which is what keeps a five-year-old using it after the driving novelty fades. 3.1 mph with a published 60-minute run time.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 58.0
- Longevity7.0
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Parent control8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- Trailer included, and it detaches
- Run time published at 60 min
- 3.1 mph, stated
- LED headlights
What doesn’t
- No capacity or charge-time figure
- The 66 lb limit does not include trailer load
- Single seat despite the UTV shape
#6 · Best quad
8.3 / 10
Costzon Kids ATV 12V
Costzon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A 77 lb limit and a 7Ah pack make this the 12V quad that lasts past five, and both numbers are published.
All nine specs published and a 77 lb limit — the highest of any 12V quad here, which is what gets it past five. No remote, so the 1.7-3.1 mph band is doing the work.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Fit at 59.0
- Longevity8.5
- Spec disclosure10.0
- Parent control5.5
- Value8.5
What works
- All nine specs published
- 77 lb limit — the highest of any 12V quad here
- 7Ah pack with a 1-2 hr run time
- 1.7-3.1 mph two-speed band
What doesn’t
- No parent remote, a real gap on a quad
- 8-12 hr charge
- Quad format has no belt by design
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What is the best ride-on toy for a 5-year-old?
Is 12V or 24V better for a 5-year-old?
What weight limit does a 5-year-old need?
What seat width does a 5-year-old need on a ride-on?
Does a 5-year-old need a parent remote?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- CDC Clinical Growth Charts (weight-for-age percentiles)
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
- CPSC safety guides and education materials
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next