Skip to content
RideontoyGuide

Best kids ATVs

Best kids ATVs and quads

A quad is the most stable thing in this category and the easiest for a small child to operate. The trade is that almost none have a seat belt — by design.

Written by

Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media

Published October 27, 2026 · last updated November 7, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing

How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.

Price checked November 8, 2026

Verdict first

Quick picks

A quad is the most stable thing in this category and the easiest for a small child to operate. The trade is that almost none have a seat belt — by design.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.

Ranked picks with each model’s score, who it suits and its current Amazon price
#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater

JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater

Best overall

3-8 years, two-seat quad8.8out of 10$299.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

2
Kid Trax 12V ATV Ride-On

Kid Trax 12V ATV Ride-On

Best 12V quad

3-8 years, brand support8.4out of 10$199.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

3
Costzon Kids ATV 12V

Costzon Kids ATV 12V

Best 12V specs

3-7 years, highest 12V quad limit8.3out of 10$174.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

4
MOEYURO 24V 4x4 Kids ATV Four Wheeler

MOEYURO 24V 4x4 Kids ATV Four Wheeler

Biggest battery

Big kids, largest 24V battery8.6out of 10$309.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

5
Hikole 24V ATV 4 Wheeler

Hikole 24V ATV 4 Wheeler

Best single-seat 24V

3-6 years, single-seat 24V quad8.3out of 10$199.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

6
OLAKIDS 6V Kids ATV with Spray Function

OLAKIDS 6V Kids ATV with Spray Function

Best 6V quad

18+ months, parent-controlled8.4out of 10$89.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

7
Best Choice Products 6V Kids Electric Ride-On ATV

Best Choice Products 6V Kids Electric Ride-On ATV

Best toddler quad

1.5-3 years, longest 6V run time8.2out of 10$89.98Amazon

#ad disclosure

Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.

A quad is the sensible default first powered ride-on, and the reason is ergonomic rather than mechanical. Handlebars are more intuitive than a steering wheel, a thumb or push button is easier than a foot pedal, and the low wide stance is harder to tip than a tall car body. For an eighteen-month-old, all three matter.

The trade

No seat belt, by design

The defining difference between a quad and a car is restraint. A quad has none, and that is deliberate: you dismount a quad by stepping off it, and being strapped to one that is tipping is worse than not being.

The consequence is that the speed setting is doing the entire safety job. A 1.24 mph 6V quad is forgiving; a 5.9 mph 24V two-seat quad with no belt deserves respect, and we would want a helmet on it. One pick here is the exception — a 6V quad with a 3-point belt and a parent remote — and that is why it ranks where it does despite a modest spec sheet. See seat belts and harnesses.

By class

Which quad for which age

6V (44 lb, 0.93-1.8 mph) — eighteen months to three. The limit is reached at about four for an average child. Look for rubber traction strips if you have grass; most 6V quads have bare plastic.

12V (77 lb, 1.7-3.1 mph) — three to eight. The 77 lb limit is notable: it is the highest of any 12V quad here and 11 lb above the usual 66 lb cars, which is what gets a quad past five.

24V (110-135 lb, 1.8-5.9 mph) — five to ten, and the two-seat versions carry a passenger. Four motors, EVA tires, and real grass ability. See best 24V ride-on toys.

Grass

Quads on grass

A quad puts the rider’s weight more directly over the driven wheels than a car does, which helps traction. Combined with EVA tires and four motors, a 24V quad is among the better things here on a lawn.

At 6V it is still marginal — the traction advantage does not overcome the torque shortage. See the terrain guide and best ride-on toys for grass.

Related: best kids UTVs, best kids dirt bikes and the Kid Trax 12V ATV review.

Every pick in full

The picks, in detail

Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.

#1 · Best overall

8.8 / 10

JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater

JOYRACER

JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater — JOYRACER kids ride-on toy
$299.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A 9Ah pack, EVA tires and a 135 lb limit on a two-seat quad — the most capable quad in the registry on paper.

All nine specs published, a 9Ah pack, EVA tires, a 19-inch leather bench and a 135 lb limit across two seats. The most thoroughly documented quad in the registry.

The nine specs

Voltage24V
Battery capacity9Ah
Top speed3.1-5.9 mph
Weight limit135 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge time8-12 hr
Parent remoteYes
Seats2 (19 in leather)
Maker's age range3-8 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure10.0
  • Weight limit9.0
  • Traction9.5
  • Value8.5

What works

  • All nine specs published
  • 9Ah pack and 4 x 200W motors
  • 135 lb limit with a 19-inch seat
  • EVA tires rather than hard plastic

What doesn’t

  • 5.9 mph on a quad with no belt demands close supervision
  • 8-12 hr charge
  • A two-seat quad is wide; check gates and storage

#2 · Best 12V quad

8.4 / 10

Kid Trax 12V ATV Ride-On

Kid Trax

Kid Trax 12V ATV Ride-On — Kid Trax kids ride-on toy
$199.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

77 lb, 2.7 mph, 1-2 hours: a quad from a brand with a real parts channel, and every load-bearing spec is published.

A 77 lb limit with a stated 3-8 year range, 2.7 mph and a published 1-2 hour run time, from a brand whose parts you can actually buy.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed2.7 mph
Weight limit77 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge time8-12 hr
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range3-8 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure8.0
  • Weight limit8.5
  • Traction7.5
  • Value8.5

What works

  • 77 lb limit with a stated 3-8 year range
  • 1-2 hr run time and 8-12 hr charge, both published
  • Kid Trax replacement parts are easy to find
  • Two speeds plus reverse

What doesn’t

  • No parent remote
  • Amp-hour capacity not published
  • 2.7 mph will bore the top of the age range

#3 · Best 12V specs

8.3 / 10

Costzon Kids ATV 12V

Costzon

Costzon Kids ATV 12V — Costzon kids ride-on toy
$174.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A 77 lb limit and a 7Ah pack make this the 12V quad that lasts past five, and both numbers are published.

All nine specs published including a 7Ah pack, a 1.7-3.1 mph band and a 77 lb limit — the highest of any 12V quad here. No remote is the gap.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity7Ah
Top speed1.7-3.1 mph
Weight limit77 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge time8-12 hr
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range3-7 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure10.0
  • Weight limit8.5
  • Traction7.0
  • Value8.5

What works

  • All nine specs published
  • 77 lb limit — the highest of any 12V quad here
  • 7Ah pack with a 1-2 hr run time
  • 1.7-3.1 mph two-speed band

What doesn’t

  • No parent remote, a real gap on a quad
  • 8-12 hr charge
  • Quad format has no belt by design

#4 · Biggest battery

8.6 / 10

MOEYURO 24V 4x4 Kids ATV Four Wheeler

MOEYURO

MOEYURO 24V 4x4 Kids ATV Four Wheeler — MOEYURO kids ride-on toy
$309.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A 9Ah pack — the largest lead-acid capacity in the registry — on a 4x4 quad with a published 1.8-5 mph band.

A 9Ah pack with four 200W motors and a published 8-12 hour charge. Grass costs run time, so the largest lead-acid capacity here is the right answer for a rough yard.

The nine specs

Voltage24V
Battery capacity9Ah
Top speed1.8-5 mph
Weight limit110 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge time8-12 hr
Parent remoteYes
Seats2
Maker's age rangeNot stated by maker

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure9.5
  • Weight limit8.0
  • Traction9.0
  • Value8.0

What works

  • 9Ah capacity, the largest here — the spec that drives run time
  • All nine specs except age range are published
  • 4 x 200W motors, true 4x4
  • Charge time published at 8-12 hr

What doesn’t

  • No stated age range on a 5 mph quad
  • A quad has no seat belt by design
  • 110 lb over two seats is less than the two-seat cars manage

#5 · Best single-seat 24V

8.3 / 10

Hikole 24V ATV 4 Wheeler

Hikole

Hikole 24V ATV 4 Wheeler — Hikole kids ride-on toy
$199.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A 110 lb limit and 60-90 minutes of run time on a single-seat 24V quad for 3-6s.

A 110 lb limit on one seat with 60-90 minutes of published run time and a sensible 1.9-3.1 mph band for a 3-6 year old. No remote.

The nine specs

Voltage24V
Battery capacity5Ah
Top speed1.9-3.1 mph
Weight limit110 lb
Run time60-90 min
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range3-6 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure8.5
  • Weight limit8.5
  • Traction8.0
  • Value8.5

What works

  • Eight of nine specs published
  • 110 lb limit on a single seat — plenty of headroom
  • 60-90 min run time from a 5Ah pack
  • 1.9-3.1 mph is sensibly slow for 24V

What doesn’t

  • No parent remote
  • Charge time not published
  • 3.1 mph will feel tame to the top of the age range

#6 · Best 6V quad

8.4 / 10

OLAKIDS 6V Kids ATV with Spray Function

OLAKIDS

OLAKIDS 6V Kids ATV with Spray Function — OLAKIDS kids ride-on toy
$89.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The only 6V quad here with a parent remote that overrides the pedal — the single most useful safety feature at this age.

The only 6V quad here with a parent remote that overrides the pedal, plus a 3-point belt — unusual on a quad — at 1.24 mph for 18 months up.

The nine specs

Voltage6V
Battery capacity4.5Ah
Top speed1.24 mph
Weight limitNot stated by maker
Run time~45 min
Charge time6-8 hr
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age range18+ months

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure7.0
  • Weight limit5.5
  • Traction6.0
  • Value8.5

What works

  • Remote mode overrides manual mode, with an emergency brake button
  • Publishes capacity (4.5Ah) and charge time — most 6V listings don't
  • 3-point seat belt and rear suspension springs
  • 15W motors with slow-start

What doesn’t

  • Weight limit is not published anywhere on the listing
  • ~45 min is short; plan on one session per charge
  • The water-mist feature needs refilling to stay interesting

#7 · Best toddler quad

8.2 / 10

Best Choice Products 6V Kids Electric Ride-On ATV

Best Choice Products

Best Choice Products 6V Kids Electric Ride-On ATV — Best Choice Products kids ride-on toy
$89.98View on Amazon

$109.99 list — 18% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The most complete 6V spec sheet in this price band: speed, run time and capacity are all published, which is rarer than it should be.

1-2 hours of published run time, a removable battery and 4-wheel suspension with treaded tires. 1.8 mph and 44 lb for 1.5-3 year olds.

The nine specs

Voltage6V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed1.8 mph
Weight limit44 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range1.5-3 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Spec disclosure8.5
  • Weight limit5.5
  • Traction7.0
  • Value9.0

What works

  • 1-2 hr run time is the longest published figure at 6V
  • Removable battery, so you can charge it off the vehicle
  • 4-wheel suspension and treaded tires for grass and dirt
  • One-button control a toddler can actually work

What doesn’t

  • No parent remote
  • Amp-hour capacity is not published, so run time can't be sanity-checked
  • 1.8 mph is quick for the youngest end of the stated range

Questions parents ask

Frequently asked questions

What is the best kids ATV?
On published specs, a 24V two-seat quad with a 135 lb limit, a 9Ah pack and EVA tires — all nine specs published. At 12V, the quads with 77 lb limits are the ones that last past five.
Do kids ATVs have seat belts?
Almost none, and that is deliberate — you dismount a quad by stepping off, and being strapped to one that is tipping is worse. One 6V quad in our registry has a 3-point belt, which is unusual. On the rest, the speed setting is the restraint.
What age can a child ride a kids ATV?
From about eighteen months on a 6V quad at under 1.5 mph, ideally with a remote. 12V quads suit three to eight on a 77 lb limit, and 24V quads five to ten with two seats on the larger ones.
Are quads safer than ride-on cars for toddlers?
More stable and easier to operate — handlebars and a single button beat a steering wheel and pedal at eighteen months. Less safe in one respect: no seat belt. For the youngest children a 6V quad with a remote is the best of both.
Do kids ATVs work better on grass than cars?
Slightly, because the rider’s weight sits more directly over the driven wheels. Combined with EVA tires and four motors a 24V quad is among the better options on a lawn. At 6V it is still marginal.

Where these numbers come from

Sources

Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.

Read next