Best chargers
Best ride-on car chargers
Match the voltage, match the connector, and buy UL Listed. That last point is the only charger specification worth paying extra for.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 21, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
Match the voltage, match the connector, and buy UL Listed. That last point is the only charger specification worth paying extra for.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() SafeAMP 12V Charger for Power Wheels Gray Battery Best 12V | UL Listed 12V replacement | 8.6out of 10 | $13.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() SafeAMP 6V UL Listed Charger for Power Wheels Blue Battery Best 6V | UL Listed 6V replacement | 8.4out of 10 | $11.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() ANPABO 24V Charger for Ride-On Toys (1000mA) Best 24V | Known output current at 24V | 8.2out of 10 | $12.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() 6V Charger for Kids Ride-On Toys (Square Plug) Best documented | Square-plug 6V vehicles | 8.1out of 10 | $12.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() LAZORA 24V Battery Charger for Ride-On Toys Widest 24V compatibility | General 24V replacement | 8.0out of 10 | $13.88Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() TUAGUI 12V Charger for Power Wheels Cheapest 12V | Cheapest 12V charger | 7.8out of 10 | $9.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() Peg Perego 24V Battery Charger (MECB0111) Genuine Peg Perego | Genuine Peg Perego 24V | 8.0out of 10 | $49.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
Chargers are the cheapest part on a ride-on and the one most often lost. They are also the only mains-powered component, which makes them the one place where safety certification genuinely matters rather than being a box-ticking exercise.
The one spec
Why UL Listed is worth three dollars
A ride-on charger plugs into a wall socket and sits there for eight to twelve hours, often overnight, often in a garage or a hallway near where children sleep. UL Listed means the unit has been independently tested against a recognized safety standard for things like overheating, insulation and fault behavior.
Our registry includes UL Listed chargers at $12 to $14 and uncertified ones at $9. The price difference is about three dollars. We would pay it every time, and this is the one place on the whole site where we would tell you not to buy the cheapest option.
Matching
Voltage and connector
Voltage, exactly. 6V, 12V or 24V. A 12V charger on a 6V battery will damage it; a 6V charger on a 12V pack will never fill it.
The connector. The common types are the Power Wheels gray/orange plug, the Power Wheels and Peg Perego blue plug, a square plug used by many 6V vehicles, and a round barrel plug on most 24V generics. Look at the socket on the vehicle, not just the voltage label.
Beyond that there is little to choose between chargers — which is why only one in our registry publishes its output current at all. 1A is typical and slow by necessity: sealed lead-acid has to be charged at a low controlled current. See run time and charging.
Diagnosis
Is the charger actually the fault?
Worth checking before you buy, because the misdiagnosis that costs most is buying a battery when the charger has failed. A charger is $10 to $14; a 24V battery is over $100.
Three signs it is the charger: no indicator light at all, an indicator that never changes state, or a battery that reads no higher after a full charge than before. Three signs it is the battery: it charges normally and then collapses within minutes of use, it gets noticeably warm while charging, or the case is visibly swollen.
The full path is on ride-on battery not charging.
Spares
Buy two
At $10 to $14 a charger is the cheapest insurance on a ride-on, and a lost charger over winter is the single most common reason a vehicle is not ready when it is wanted in spring. Keep the spare with the stored battery rather than in a drawer. See weather and storage.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Best 12V
8.6 / 10
SafeAMP 12V Charger for Power Wheels Gray Battery
SafeAMP

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
UL Listed, which is the only charger spec that genuinely matters — it is plugged into a wall near a child.
UL Listed with the correct gray/orange Power Wheels connector. On a device that sits plugged in overnight near a child, independent safety testing is worth the extra three dollars.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety9.5
- Compatibility8.5
- Value8.0
- Spec disclosure7.5
What works
- UL Listed — independently safety-tested
- Correct gray/orange Power Wheels connector
- Known brand with real support
- Direct genuine-charger replacement
What doesn’t
- Gray-connector vehicles only
- Output amperage is not published
- Costs more than unlisted no-name chargers
#2 · Best 6V
8.4 / 10
SafeAMP 6V UL Listed Charger for Power Wheels Blue Battery
SafeAMP

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The UL Listed 6V option for blue-connector Power Wheels — the one to buy when the original charger is lost.
UL Listed for blue-connector 6V Power Wheels, matched to the 4Ah blue packs. Cheap enough to keep a spare, which is the sensible thing to do.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety9.5
- Compatibility8.5
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- UL Listed
- Correct blue 6V Power Wheels connector
- Matched to the 4Ah blue packs
- Cheap enough to keep a spare
What doesn’t
- Blue-connector 6V vehicles only
- Output amperage not published
- No charge-status indicator mentioned
#3 · Best 24V
8.2 / 10
ANPABO 24V Charger for Ride-On Toys (1000mA)
ANPABO

The only charger here that publishes its output current — 1000mA (1A) — with a 6-foot lead.
The only charger in our registry that publishes its output current — 1000mA — with a 6-foot lead. 1A is slow for a 7Ah pack, but at least the figure is stated.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety6.5
- Compatibility8.0
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure9.0
What works
- Output current published at 1000mA — nobody else here does
- 6-foot lead
- Stated for lead-acid ride-on batteries
- Fits the common 24V ATV and car plugs
What doesn’t
- 1A is slow for a 7Ah or larger pack
- No safety certification stated
- Confirm connector shape before ordering
#4 · Best documented
8.1 / 10
6V Charger for Kids Ride-On Toys (Square Plug)
jssandan

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The square-plug 6V charger, with a 6-8 hour charge window published — useful, because most charger listings say nothing at all.
Publishes a 6-8 hour charge window, which almost no charger listing does. Square-plug fitment, which many 6V vehicles use — confirm yours before ordering.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety6.5
- Compatibility7.5
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure9.0
What works
- Publishes its 6-8 hour charge window
- Square-plug fitment, which many 6V vehicles use
- For 6V lead-acid ride-ons generally
- Low cost
What doesn’t
- Square-plug vehicles only — confirm yours
- No safety certification stated
- Output amperage not published
#5 · Widest 24V compatibility
8.0 / 10
LAZORA 24V Battery Charger for Ride-On Toys
LAZORA

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A 24V charger with a 5-foot lead and broad stated compatibility across Kid Trax, Dynacraft and Power Wheels 24V vehicles.
Broad named compatibility across Kid Trax, Dynacraft and Power Wheels 24V vehicles, with a 5-foot lead. No safety certification stated, which is the trade.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety6.0
- Compatibility8.5
- Value8.5
- Spec disclosure6.0
What works
- Broad named compatibility across 24V brands
- 5-foot lead reaches past the vehicle
- Inexpensive for a 24V unit
- Standard round barrel connector
What doesn’t
- No safety certification stated
- Output amperage not published
- Check your connector before ordering — 24V plugs vary
#6 · Cheapest 12V
7.8 / 10
TUAGUI 12V Charger for Power Wheels
TUAGUI

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The cheapest 12V Power Wheels charger here; it does not state UL listing, which is worth knowing before you buy.
The lowest-priced 12V Power Wheels replacement here. It does not claim UL listing where the SafeAMP does — worth knowing, because three dollars is the whole difference.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety5.0
- Compatibility8.0
- Value9.5
- Spec disclosure6.0
What works
- Lowest-priced 12V replacement here
- Stated Fisher-Price Power Wheels compatibility
- Direct cord replacement
- Cheap enough to keep a spare in the garage
What doesn’t
- The listing does not claim UL listing — the SafeAMP does
- Output amperage not published
- No safety certification stated at all
#7 · Genuine Peg Perego
8.0 / 10
Peg Perego 24V Battery Charger (MECB0111)
Peg Perego

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The genuine Peg Perego 24V charger with the correct part number — the only safe answer for a Peg Perego 24V vehicle.
The genuine 24V charger with Peg Perego's real part number. The only safe answer for a Peg Perego 24V vehicle, and more expensive than the rest of this list combined.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Safety8.0
- Compatibility10.0
- Value5.5
- Spec disclosure6.0
What works
- Genuine part, identified by Peg Perego's own part number
- Correct Peg Perego connector
- Matched to Peg Perego's 24V packs
- Keeps the vehicle warranty intact
What doesn’t
- Most expensive charger here by a wide margin
- Peg Perego 24V vehicles only
- No charge-time or amperage figure published
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What charger does a ride-on car use?
Does UL listing matter on a ride-on charger?
Can I use a 12V charger on a 6V ride-on battery?
How do I know if my ride-on charger has failed?
How long should I charge a ride-on battery?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- UL Solutions — product certification and the UL Listed mark
- Battery Council International — lead-acid battery care
- CPSC — product safety guidance and recalls
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next