Best dirt bikes
Best kids electric dirt bikes
These are small motorcycles, not ride-on toys. The specification that matters most is not the top speed — it is whether you can lock it.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 29, 2026 · last updated November 7, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
These are small motorcycles, not ride-on toys. The specification that matters most is not the top speed — it is whether you can lock it.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Firstness 36V Electric Dirt Bike Best overall | 5-10 years, complete spec sheet | 8.8out of 10 | $289.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() XERATH 36V 500W Electric Dirt Bike Best for older riders | 6-13 years, longest range | 8.8out of 10 | $459.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Razor MX400 Dirt Rocket Best supported | Age 8+, published weight limit | 8.5out of 10 | $369.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Qaba 24V Kids Dirt Bike 250W Best first bike | 8-12 years, gentlest dirt bike | 8.3out of 10 | $227.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() ECOLEAP K1 36V Kids Electric Dirt Bike Highest rider weight | Older riders, lithium pack | 8.6out of 10 | $299.98Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() Razor Dirt Rocket MX350 Best classic | Age 8+, parts availability | 8.2out of 10 | $298.00Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() Aosom 12V Kids Motorcycle with Training Wheels Best with training wheels | 3-6 years, quickest 12V bike | 8.0out of 10 | $114.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
Electric dirt bikes sit at the edge of this category and arguably outside it. A 36V bike doing 15 mph with hydraulic suspension and a chain drive is a small motorcycle, and the right mental model is a bicycle purchase rather than a toy purchase: you buy the protective gear at the same time, you pick the surface deliberately, and you accept that falls are part of it.
Prerequisite
Can your child ride a bike?
The honest gate. A dirt bike requires balance, and a child who cannot yet ride a pedal bike without training wheels will not enjoy one — the throttle takes attention they need for staying upright. If the answer is no, buy a quad instead: four wheels, no balance, and nobody has ever been disappointed by a quad. See best kids ATVs.
The 12V bikes with training wheels are the middle path. They teach throttle control at 5 mph while the training wheels handle balance, and they are a genuinely good bridge for a four-to-six-year-old. See best kids ride-on motorcycles.
The key spec
Speed limiters decide the purchase
More important than the top speed is whether you can restrict it. Two mechanisms appear:
Named speed modes. Three bikes here publish theirs individually — 5.0, 7.5 and 15.5 mph, or 6, 9 and 16. That lets you start at 5 or 6 mph and graduate the child over months.
A physical key. One bike includes a parent-controlled key that caps the speed without it fitted. Strongest option, because the child cannot defeat it and you do not need to remember to check.
The Razors have neither — a single throttle and that is it — which is why they are rated 8+ and why we would not put an eight-year-old on one without a lot of open space. See how fast do ride-on toys go.
Drivetrain
Chain or hub, lithium or lead
Chain drive (the Razors) transmits power through a real chain to the rear wheel, with pneumatic tires and more compliance. It rides like a motorcycle and needs occasional chain tensioning. Hub drive is simpler and more maintenance-free but less engaging.
Lithium versus lead-acid matters more here than anywhere else on the site, because the child has to pick the bike up. Lithium is markedly lighter, charges in 4 to 6 hours against 8 to 12, and tolerates partial charges. Two bikes here are lithium. See run time and charging.
Related: fastest ride-on toys, 8-10-year-olds and ride-on motorcycles.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Best overall
8.8 / 10
Firstness 36V Electric Dirt Bike
Firstness

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
All three speed modes, the 5.2Ah capacity, a 133 lb limit and a 5-6 hour charge — the most complete dirt-bike sheet here.
All three speed modes published as numbers — 5.0, 7.5 and 15.5 mph — with hydraulic suspension, a 133 lb limit, a 5.2Ah pack and a 5-6 hour charge. Eight of nine specs.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure9.0
- Speed control9.5
- Weight limit8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- Eight of nine specs published, including all three speed modes
- Hydraulic suspension
- 133 lb limit with a stated 5-10 year range
- 250W motor with a ~90 min run time
What doesn’t
- 15.5 mph top mode is fast for a five-year-old — lock it down
- No parent remote
- 5.2Ah is a third of the XERATH's capacity
#2 · Best for older riders
8.8 / 10
XERATH 36V 500W Electric Dirt Bike
XERATH

A 15Ah battery and a 165 lb limit with a parent-controlled speed key — the longest-range bike here, at 17.4 mph.
A parent-controlled speed key, a 165 lb limit and a 15Ah battery with a 23.6-mile stated range, rated 6-13. The key is the feature that makes 17.4 mph defensible.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Speed control10.0
- Weight limit9.5
- Value8.0
What works
- 15Ah battery with a stated 23.6-mile range
- 165 lb limit — the highest of any vehicle here
- Parent-controlled speed key limits the top speed
- Honest 6-13 year range
What doesn’t
- 17.4 mph is the fastest in the registry; full protective gear required
- No run time or charge time published
- Most expensive product in the registry
#3 · Best supported
8.5 / 10
Razor MX400 Dirt Rocket
Razor

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
140 lb and 14 mph on 24V, with the age floor and the weight limit both stated — the Razor to buy if you want the number in writing.
140 lb and 14 mph with the age-8 floor published alongside, on a steel frame with chain drive. Razor parts and tires are stocked everywhere, which is why these last.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure6.5
- Speed control6.0
- Weight limit9.0
- Value8.5
What works
- 140 lb maximum weight published
- 14 mph with an 8+ age floor, stated together
- Razor's parts and service network
- Steel frame
What doesn’t
- No run time, charge time or capacity figure
- 14 mph requires full protective gear
- No speed limiter for a first-time rider
#4 · Best first bike
8.3 / 10
Qaba 24V Kids Dirt Bike 250W
Qaba

A 143 lb limit and a 3.7-9.9 mph band — the slowest real dirt bike here, which makes it the sensible first one.
A 3.7-9.9 mph band and a 143 lb limit for 8-12s — the gentlest real dirt bike here, which makes it the sensible one to learn on rather than the fastest.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Speed control7.0
- Weight limit9.0
- Value8.5
What works
- 9.9 mph top speed is far more manageable than the 36V bikes' 15-17 mph
- 143 lb limit with a stated 8-12 year range
- Full speed band published
- 24V 7Ah with a 250W motor
What doesn’t
- No run time or charge time
- No speed limiter or parent control
- Slower top speed will frustrate a twelve-year-old
#5 · Highest rider weight
8.6 / 10
ECOLEAP K1 36V Kids Electric Dirt Bike
ECOLEAP

Three modes at 6, 9 and 16 mph on a 36V lithium pack, with a 176 lb limit — the highest-capacity rider weight of any bike here.
176 lb — the highest rider limit in the registry — on a lithium 36V pack with three published modes at 6, 9 and 16 mph. No stated age range is the one gap.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Speed control8.5
- Weight limit10.0
- Value8.5
What works
- 176 lb rider limit — the highest here
- Lithium rather than lead-acid: lighter and faster to charge
- All three speed modes published
- 700W peak motor with a 5-6 hr charge
What doesn’t
- No stated age range on a 16 mph bike
- Run time not published
- 5.2Ah lithium is a modest pack for 700W peak
#6 · Best classic
8.2 / 10
Razor Dirt Rocket MX350
Razor

The chain-driven original: 14 mph on 24V, age 8+, and a parts channel that still stocks tires fifteen years on.
The chain-driven original at 14 mph with an 8+ floor and pneumatic tires. Razor publishes no weight limit for this one, which is the thing to ask about.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure5.5
- Speed control6.0
- Weight limit6.0
- Value8.5
What works
- High-torque chain-driven motor, not a hub drive
- Razor parts and tires are stocked everywhere
- Real MX geometry and pneumatic tires
- 14 mph published with an 8+ age floor
What doesn’t
- Razor publishes no weight limit for this model on the listing
- No run time or charge time
- Chain drive needs occasional tensioning
#7 · Best with training wheels
8.0 / 10
Aosom 12V Kids Motorcycle with Training Wheels
Aosom

5 mph on a 12V bike with a 66 lb limit and a published 4.5Ah pack — quick, and the listing is straight about it.
A full 1.9-5 mph band on a 12V bike with a 66 lb limit and training wheels, for 3-6s. 5 mph at three needs the low setting and supervision.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure8.0
- Speed control6.0
- Weight limit7.0
- Value8.5
What works
- Full 1.9-5 mph band published, not just the maximum
- 66 lb limit with a 3-6 year range
- Training wheels
- 4.5Ah capacity stated
What doesn’t
- 5 mph at age 3 needs the low setting and supervision
- No run time or charge time
- No remote
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What age can a child ride an electric dirt bike?
How fast do kids electric dirt bikes go?
What is the best first electric dirt bike for a child?
Lithium or lead-acid for a kids dirt bike?
What safety gear does a kids dirt bike need?
Are Razor dirt bikes better than generic ones?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- NHTSA — bicycle and helmet safety guidance
- CPSC safety guides and education materials
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next