Best for big kids
Best ride-on toys for big kids
The one page on this site sorted purely by weight limit. Every vehicle below publishes 130 lb or more, which is what big-kid actually means.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published November 4, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
The one page on this site sorted purely by weight limit. Every vehicle below publishes 130 lb or more, which is what big-kid actually means.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() AceCruisers XXXL 4WD 24V 2-Seater Highest four-wheel limit | 3-14 years, longest useful life | 9.1out of 10 | $549.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() ECOLEAP K1 36V Kids Electric Dirt Bike Highest rider weight | Older riders, lithium pack | 8.6out of 10 | $299.98Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() XERATH 36V 500W Electric Dirt Bike Best big-kid bike | 6-13 years, longest range | 8.8out of 10 | $459.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater Best quad | 3-8 years, two-seat quad | 8.7out of 10 | $299.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() JORFLY 24V Chevrolet Monster Truck 2-Seater Best on rough ground | Rough ground, big wheels | 8.3out of 10 | $309.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V Highest 12V limit | 3-7 years, genuine Power Wheels | 8.6out of 10 | $399.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() LIGIANT 24V 4-Seater Golf Cart Highest total load | Groups, highest weight limit | 8.3out of 10 | $339.97Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
“Power wheels for big kids” is one of the most-searched phrases in this category, and it is asked by two different people: a parent of a nine-year-old who has outgrown everything, and a parent of a large five-year-old who is already near the limit of a vehicle they have. Both need the same thing — a published weight limit well above their child’s current weight — so this page is sorted on that and nothing else.
The threshold
Why 130 lb is the line
Below 130 lb you are in the ordinary market: 55 to 77 lb covers three-to-six-year-olds and 110 to 132 lb covers six-to-eight-year-olds with one child aboard. 130 lb is where a vehicle starts to cover either a single older child with real headroom, or two school-age children at once.
For reference, from the CDC growth charts: an average ten-year-old is 72 lb, a twelve-year-old 89 lb, and a twelve-year-old at the 90th percentile about 130 lb. So a 130 lb vehicle fits most twelve-year-olds and a 220 lb vehicle fits essentially any child. The arithmetic is on the age and size chart.
The categories
What exists above 130 lb
Very large 24V two-seaters (135 to 264 lb). The practical answer for two children or an older one who wants to drive rather than ride. The 220 lb vehicle here has a 22-inch adjustable bench and a stated 3-14 year range; the 264 lb one has four seats and is the only group vehicle in the registry.
36V dirt bikes (133 to 176 lb). Single rider, 10 to 17 mph, and the highest rider limits anywhere. These are small motorcycles and the limit is about frame strength at speed as much as load.
Genuine Power Wheels (130 lb). One vehicle in our registry, and the reason the phrase exists. A 12V Jeep rated to 130 lb against a 55 to 77 lb class norm, with a 5 mph high setting that locks and a parts channel that outlives the model. See best Power Wheels.
24V quads (135 lb). Two-seat, EVA-tired, and the best-documented high-limit vehicles here. No belt by design, so the speed setting carries the safety.
Beyond weight
The three other specs that decide fit
A high weight limit on a narrow vehicle still does not fit a big child. Three more things to check:
Seat width. 20 inches is the standard 24V bench; 21 to 22 inches is what a ten-year-old actually wants. Where it is not published, overall length under 45 inches indicates a vehicle built for a smaller child whatever the limit says.
Adjustability. A four-position seat or an adjustable bench adds years. This is the single most valuable longevity feature at this end of the market.
Top speed. A 220 lb vehicle at 3 mph will not be used by a ten-year-old. 5 mph is the floor on four wheels, and dirt bikes start at 10. See fastest ride-on toys.
The honest caveat
When to stop buying ride-ons
Worth saying: a high weight limit does not make a ride-on interesting to a child who has moved on. If your nine-year-old has lost interest in their current vehicle because it is boring rather than because it is small, a bigger version of the same thing will be boring too.
The things that genuinely hold attention at this age are speed, a real riding skill (a dirt bike), or a function (towing, tipping, digging). A faster, larger car is only an answer if the problem was actually size. See do kids outgrow ride-on toys.
Related: 8-10-year-olds, best 24V ride-on toys and weight limits.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Highest four-wheel limit
9.1 / 10
AceCruisers XXXL 4WD 24V 2-Seater
AceCruisers

220 lb and a stated 3-14 year range — the only two-seater here that genuinely claims to fit a teenager.
220 lb and a 22-inch adjustable seat with a stated 3-14 year range. If 'big kid' means a twelve-year-old, this is the only car-shaped answer in the registry.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit10.0
- Speed8.0
- Spec disclosure8.5
- Longevity10.0
- Value8.0
What works
- 220 lb limit, double most two-seaters
- 22-inch adjustable seat and a stated 3-14 year range
- Full 1.9-5.5 mph band published
- 4WD with 200W motors
What doesn’t
- No run time published, and at 220 lb that is the figure you want
- A 7Ah pack carrying 220 lb will be short-lived
- Most expensive vehicle in the registry
#2 · Highest rider weight
8.6 / 10
ECOLEAP K1 36V Kids Electric Dirt Bike
ECOLEAP

Three modes at 6, 9 and 16 mph on a 36V lithium pack, with a 176 lb limit — the highest-capacity rider weight of any bike here.
176 lb on a single-rider lithium dirt bike with three published modes at 6, 9 and 16 mph. The highest rider limit anywhere in our registry.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit10.0
- Speed9.0
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Longevity9.0
- Safety8.0
What works
- 176 lb rider limit — the highest here
- Lithium rather than lead-acid: lighter and faster to charge
- All three speed modes published
- 700W peak motor with a 5-6 hr charge
What doesn’t
- No stated age range on a 16 mph bike
- Run time not published
- 5.2Ah lithium is a modest pack for 700W peak
#3 · Best big-kid bike
8.8 / 10
XERATH 36V 500W Electric Dirt Bike
XERATH

A 15Ah battery and a 165 lb limit with a parent-controlled speed key — the longest-range bike here, at 17.4 mph.
165 lb, a 15Ah battery, a 23.6-mile stated range and a parent speed key, rated 6-13. The combination of a high limit and a limiter is what makes this work.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.5
- Speed9.0
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Longevity9.5
- Safety8.5
What works
- 15Ah battery with a stated 23.6-mile range
- 165 lb limit — the highest of any vehicle here
- Parent-controlled speed key limits the top speed
- Honest 6-13 year range
What doesn’t
- 17.4 mph is the fastest in the registry; full protective gear required
- No run time or charge time published
- Most expensive product in the registry
#4 · Best quad
8.7 / 10
JOYRACER 24V Kids ATV XL Four Wheeler 2-Seater
JOYRACER

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
A 9Ah pack, EVA tires and a 135 lb limit on a two-seat quad — the most capable quad in the registry on paper.
135 lb across two seats with all nine specs published, a 9Ah pack and EVA tires. The best-documented high-limit vehicle here.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.0
- Speed9.0
- Spec disclosure10.0
- Longevity9.0
- Value8.5
What works
- All nine specs published
- 9Ah pack and 4 x 200W motors
- 135 lb limit with a 19-inch seat
- EVA tires rather than hard plastic
What doesn’t
- 5.9 mph on a quad with no belt demands close supervision
- 8-12 hr charge
- A two-seat quad is wide; check gates and storage
#5 · Best on rough ground
8.3 / 10
JORFLY 24V Chevrolet Monster Truck 2-Seater
JORFLY

5.9 mph and a 135 lb limit on oversized wheels — and, unusually, it publishes a 1-2 hour charge time.
135 lb and 5.9 mph on oversized wheels with four 200W motors — the fastest high-limit four-wheeler here. The 1-2 hour charge claim needs confirming.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.0
- Speed9.5
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Longevity8.5
- Value8.0
What works
- 1-2 hr charge time published — by far the fastest claim here
- 135 lb limit, the highest of the two-seat trucks
- 4 x 200W motors on oversized wheels
- Officially licensed Chevrolet
What doesn’t
- A 1-2 hr charge is implausibly quick for lead-acid; confirm with the seller
- No capacity figure to check it against
- 5.9 mph with no stated age range
#6 · Highest 12V limit
8.6 / 10
Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Genuine Fisher-Price Power Wheels: a 130 lb limit, a 5 mph high setting and a lockable low — the specs that made the brand the default.
130 lb on a 12V vehicle, which is double the class norm, with a 5 mph high setting that locks. Genuine Power Wheels frames and gearboxes, and a real parts channel.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.0
- Speed8.0
- Spec disclosure7.0
- Longevity9.0
- Value7.5
What works
- 130 lb limit — the highest of any 12V vehicle here
- Two speeds with a parent-lockable high setting
- Real Power Wheels drivetrain and parts channel
- Two seats
What doesn’t
- No parent remote — Power Wheels has never fitted one
- Run time and charge time not published
- 5 mph is genuinely fast; the high-speed lock matters
#7 · Highest total load
8.3 / 10
LIGIANT 24V 4-Seater Golf Cart
LIGIANT

264 lb across four seats — the only vehicle here that genuinely takes a group, and the limit is published.
264 lb across four seats — the only vehicle here built around a group rather than a child. No published run time, which at that load is the figure you most want.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit10.0
- Speed8.0
- Spec disclosure7.0
- Longevity8.5
- Value8.0
What works
- 264 lb maximum load — double most two-seaters
- Four seats and a removable roof
- Full 1.86-4.35 mph band published
- 4WD
What doesn’t
- No run time published, and with 264 lb aboard that matters most here
- A 7Ah pack moving 264 lb will be slow and short-lived
- Largest footprint in the registry
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What is the highest weight limit on a kids ride-on?
Are there Power Wheels for big kids?
What ride-on will hold two 10-year-olds?
Is a high weight limit enough to fit a big child?
Will a bigger ride-on re-interest a child who has got bored?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- CDC Clinical Growth Charts (weight-for-age percentiles)
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
- NHTSA — bicycle and helmet safety guidance
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next