12V vs 24V
12V vs 24V ride-on toys
The decision that costs the most to get wrong in either direction. What doubles between the classes is the weight limit, not the speed.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 16, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
The decision that costs the most to get wrong in either direction. What doubles between the classes is the weight limit, not the speed.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno Best 12V | 3-6 years, complete spec sheet | 8.7out of 10 | $149.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Seizeen 24V Ford Bronco Raptor 2-Seater Best 24V | 3-8 years, best-documented 24V | 9.3out of 10 | $349.90Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Best Choice Products 12V Kids Ride-On Car Best cheap 12V | Age 3+, first 12V with a remote | 8.5out of 10 | $189.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() JOYRACER 24V 4x4 Off-Road UTV 2-Seater Best 24V for grass | 3-8 years, off-road UTV | 9.0out of 10 | $299.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
This is the decision most people get wrong, in both directions. A 24V vehicle bought for a three-year-old is capability they cannot use for three years; a 12V car bought for a six-year-old has about a year in it. And the reason it goes wrong is that people compare on the wrong number.
The comparison
Side by side, on published figures
| Specification | 12V | 24V | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight limit | 55 – 130 lb | 110 – 264 lb | 24V, decisively |
| Top speed | 2.5 – 5 mph | 4 – 7.5 mph | 24V, marginally |
| Motors | 2 × 25-35W | 4 × 90-200W | 24V, decisively |
| Run time | 40 min – 2 hr | 30 min – 2 hr | No advantage either way |
| Grass ability | Short cut only | Long grass, gravel | 24V, decisively |
| Two children | Rarely (66 lb typical) | Yes (130 lb typical) | 24V, decisively |
| Price | $100 – $250 | $220 – $550 | 12V |
| Storage size | Compact, 39-45 in | Large, up to 3 ft wide | 12V |
The surprise
Speed is not the difference
The intuitive assumption is that 24V is twice as fast. It is not. 12V tops out at 5 mph in our registry and 24V at 7.5, with most 24V vehicles at 4.3 to 5 mph — which means the quickest 12V cars overlap the slower 24V ones entirely.
The 12V benchmark on this page publishes 4.3 mph and the 24V benchmark publishes 4.4 mph. They are the same speed. What separates them is that one carries 66 lb and the other carries 132 lb.
What really changes
Weight limit and motor count
Weight limit. 55 to 77 lb becomes 110 to 132 lb typically, and up to 220 lb at the top. That is what turns a two-seat body into a genuine two-child vehicle: two average six-year-olds weigh about 92 lb, which is above every 66 lb two-seater and comfortably inside a 130 lb one. See weight limits.
Motor count. Two motors become four, one per wheel. On grass a two-motor rear-drive vehicle spins whichever wheel has least grip and goes nowhere; four motors put power through all four contact patches. This is the capability 12V cannot buy at any price. See the terrain guide.
The decision
Which to buy
Buy 12V if: the child is three to five and under about 55 lb, the surface is pavement or mown grass, one child will use it, and storage is tight. See best 12V ride-on cars.
Buy 24V if: the child is six or over, two children will share, the yard has long grass or a slope, or you want the vehicle to last four or five years rather than two. See best 24V ride-on toys.
At five, it is a genuine toss-up and the arithmetic usually favors 24V: a 12V car at five is a two-to-three-year purchase, a 24V vehicle at five is a four-to-five-year one, at roughly double the price. Per year of use, 24V wins. See ride-on toys for 5-year-olds.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Best 12V
8.7 / 10
Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno
Winado

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Eight of the nine specs are published, including the charge-to-run ratio most brands won't print: 8-12 hours in, 1-2 hours out.
The 12V benchmark: eight of nine specs published including both run time and charge time, at 4.3 mph with a 66 lb limit. If 12V is enough, this is what good looks like.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure9.0
- Weight limit8.0
- Speed8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- Both run time and charge time published — rare at any price
- Hydraulic doors that actually swing up
- Remote gives 3 speeds, manual gives 2
- 4.3 mph is the quickest 12V single-seater here
What doesn’t
- 4.3 mph is fast for the bottom of the stated 3-6 range
- Amp-hour capacity is not published
- 8-12 hr charge is a full overnight
#2 · Best 24V
9.3 / 10
Seizeen 24V Ford Bronco Raptor 2-Seater
Seizeen

132 lb, 4.4 mph and a 1-2 hour run time on a licensed Bronco — the most complete 24V sheet in the registry.
The 24V benchmark: 132 lb, 4.4 mph, a 1-2 hour run time and a belt per seat. Note the speed is barely higher than the 12V above — the weight limit is what doubled.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure9.5
- Weight limit9.0
- Speed8.5
- Value8.5
What works
- Eight of nine specs published
- 132 lb limit is the practical two-child figure
- Officially licensed Ford Bronco Raptor
- 4 x 90W motors with a safety belt per seat
What doesn’t
- Charge time is the one spec missing
- 4.4 mph on grass will drain a 7Ah pack faster than the stated 1-2 hr
- Large footprint — measure your storage before buying
#3 · Best cheap 12V
8.5 / 10
Best Choice Products 12V Kids Ride-On Car
Best Choice Products

The default first 12V car: parent remote, 2.8 mph, and a 61 lb limit stated plainly rather than hidden in a dimensions line.
2.8 mph and a 61 lb limit with a remote, at well under half the 24V price. The right answer for a three-to-five-year-old on pavement.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure7.5
- Weight limit7.0
- Speed8.0
- Value9.0
What works
- Parent remote with forward and reverse
- Lockable doors, adjustable seatbelt, spring suspension
- Non-deflating plastic wheels with traction tread
- Small footprint: 39.25 x 26 x 26 in
What doesn’t
- Neither run time nor charge time is published
- 61 lb is the lowest limit of the 12V cars here
- No amp-hour figure
#4 · Best 24V for grass
9.0 / 10
JOYRACER 24V 4x4 Off-Road UTV 2-Seater
JOYRACER

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
All four specs that matter off-road are published: 5 mph, 130 lb, a 20-inch seat and a 3-8 year range.
Four 200W motors and EVA tires on a 130 lb limit. This is the capability 12V cannot buy at any price — four driven wheels rather than two.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Spec disclosure9.0
- Weight limit9.0
- Speed9.0
- Value8.5
What works
- Eight of nine specs published
- 4WD with 4 x 200W motors — real grass capability
- 130 lb limit and a 20-inch seat
- 5 mph with a 3-8 year range stated together
What doesn’t
- Charge time not published
- 5 mph on a UTV needs the remote for younger riders
- Side-by-side body is wide; check gate widths
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
Is 24V twice as fast as 12V?
Is 24V worth the extra money?
Does a 24V ride-on run longer than a 12V one?
What age should move from 12V to 24V?
Can a 3-year-old use a 24V ride-on?
Do I need 24V for a grass yard?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- CDC Clinical Growth Charts (weight-for-age percentiles)
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
- CPSC safety guides and education materials
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next