Skip to content
RideontoyGuide

Best for 4-year-olds

Best ride-on toys for 4-year-olds

Four is where a 44 lb weight limit stops being enough. The band to shop in is 34 to 45 lb, which makes 66 lb the published limit to look for.

Written by

Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media

Published October 23, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing

How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.

Price checked November 8, 2026

Verdict first

Quick picks

Four is where a 44 lb weight limit stops being enough. The band to shop in is 34 to 45 lb, which makes 66 lb the published limit to look for.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.

Ranked picks with each model’s score, who it suits and its current Amazon price
#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno

Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno

Best overall

3-6 years, complete spec sheet8.7out of 10$149.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

2
Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor

Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor

Best documented

Best-documented 12V truck8.8out of 10$209.90Amazon

#ad disclosure

3
Maybird 12V Dodge Durango Pursuit Police Car

Maybird 12V Dodge Durango Pursuit Police Car

Best speed steps

Age 3+, graduated speed control8.6out of 10$164.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

4
Kidzone Licensed Ram 3500 Ride-On Truck

Kidzone Licensed Ram 3500 Ride-On Truck

Best frame

3-6 years, iron frame8.4out of 10$179.96Amazon

#ad disclosure

5
Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado

Best truck bed

Licensed truck with a real bed8.2out of 10$229.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

6
SEGMART 12V Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

SEGMART 12V Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Best safety spec

3-6 years, bigger battery8.4out of 10$129.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.

Four is a transitional age. The child can steer confidently, understands two speed settings, and will generally stop when asked — but they are also now heavy enough that the 44 lb limit of most 6V vehicles is either exhausted or close to it. So this is squarely 12V territory, and the choice is about which 12V vehicle rather than which class.

The numbers

What fits a four-year-old

An average four-year-old weighs about 36 lb; at the 90th percentile, about 45 lb. Against a 66 lb published limit that is three to four years of headroom, taking you to seven or eight. Against 55 lb it is two to three. Against the 44 lb of a 6V quad, a large four-year-old is already within 10% of the limit, which is the point at which we would say the vehicle is finished rather than new.

See the full band table on the age and size chart, and what actually fails when you exceed a limit on weight limits.

Speed

Why the band matters more than the maximum

At four the useful specification is not the top speed but the spread. A car published at 1.3 to 2.7 mph can be left on low for a nervous starter and opened up a month later; a car with a single 2.5 mph setting cannot, and will feel slow by five.

Three picks here publish a genuine band, and one publishes each remote step as a separate named figure. That is the level of disclosure worth paying for — it is the difference between a vehicle you can tune to the child and one you have to accept as delivered. See how fast do ride-on toys go.

One seat or two

Whether to go two-seat at four

Worth considering even for an only child, because at 12V the two-seat vehicles tend to come with higher weight limits and wider seats. A 12V two-seater with a 110 or 130 lb limit will take a four-year-old to nine or ten, where a 66 lb single-seater stops at seven.

The caution is the one that catches everyone: a two-seat body with a 66 lb limit is still a one-child vehicle. Read the limit, not the seat count. See 2-seater ride-on cars and 1-seater vs 2-seater.

Grass

If the yard is grass

12V with two 25W motors crosses short cut grass at a walking pace and struggles with anything longer or any slope. If your yard is rough, the honest options are to accept the limitation, fit EVA tires, or go to 24V with four motors — which at four is a reasonable purchase if the weight limit suits. See the terrain guide and best ride-on toys for grass.

Adjacent ages: 3-year-olds and 5-year-olds.

Every pick in full

The picks, in detail

Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.

#1 · Best overall

8.7 / 10

Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno

Winado

Winado 12V Lamborghini Veneno — Winado kids ride-on toy
$149.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Eight of the nine specs are published, including the charge-to-run ratio most brands won't print: 8-12 hours in, 1-2 hours out.

Eight of nine specs published, including both a 1-2 hour run time and an 8-12 hour charge — a disclosure level almost nothing else at this price manages. 4.3 mph with a 3-speed remote.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed4.3 mph
Weight limit66 lb
Run time1-2 hr
Charge time8-12 hr
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age range3-6 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 49.0
  • Parent control8.5
  • Spec disclosure9.0
  • Longevity8.0
  • Value8.5

What works

  • Both run time and charge time published — rare at any price
  • Hydraulic doors that actually swing up
  • Remote gives 3 speeds, manual gives 2
  • 4.3 mph is the quickest 12V single-seater here

What doesn’t

  • 4.3 mph is fast for the bottom of the stated 3-6 range
  • Amp-hour capacity is not published
  • 8-12 hr charge is a full overnight

#2 · Best documented

8.8 / 10

Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor

Seizeen

Seizeen 12V Ford F-150 Raptor — Seizeen kids ride-on toy
$209.90View on Amazon

$239.90 list — 13% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The best-documented 12V truck here: a real speed range, a real run-time range, and a seat width stated in inches.

A 1.3-2.7 mph band, a 70-110 minute run time, a 66 lb limit and a 15-inch seat width stated in inches. Seven of nine specs, and all of them as real ranges rather than round numbers.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity7Ah
Top speed1.3-2.7 mph
Weight limit66 lb
Run time70-110 min
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1 (15 in wide)
Maker's age rangeNot stated by maker

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 49.5
  • Parent control9.0
  • Spec disclosure9.5
  • Longevity8.0
  • Value8.5

What works

  • Seven of nine specs published, with real ranges rather than round numbers
  • 70-110 min run time from a 12V 7Ah pack
  • 3-point seatbelt and 4-wheel suspension
  • Remote has 3 speeds plus an emergency brake

What doesn’t

  • No stated age range
  • Charge time not published
  • 2.7 mph will feel slow to a six-year-old

#3 · Best speed steps

8.6 / 10

Maybird 12V Dodge Durango Pursuit Police Car

Maybird

Maybird 12V Dodge Durango Pursuit Police Car — Maybird kids ride-on toy
$164.99View on Amazon

$199.99 list — 18% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The clearest speed disclosure of any 12V car here: three named remote speeds (1.9, 2.5 and 3.1 mph) rather than a vague 3-speed claim.

1.9, 2.5 and 3.1 mph as individually named remote steps, with a 90-minute low-speed run time stated against the speed it applies to. Nobody else publishes this clearly.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed3.1 mph (remote steps 1.9 / 2.5 / 3.1)
Weight limit66 lb
Run timeUp to 90 min (low speed)
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age range3+ years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 49.0
  • Parent control10.0
  • Spec disclosure9.5
  • Longevity8.0
  • Value8.0

What works

  • Every remote speed step is published as a number
  • Remote has a high-priority emergency brake
  • Run time stated with the speed it applies to — almost nobody does this
  • 80% pre-assembled; stated 20-minute build

What doesn’t

  • Charge time is not published
  • No amp-hour figure
  • The 90-minute figure is the low-speed run time, not the 3.1 mph one

#4 · Best frame

8.4 / 10

Kidzone Licensed Ram 3500 Ride-On Truck

Kidzone

Kidzone Licensed Ram 3500 Ride-On Truck — Kidzone kids ride-on toy
$179.96View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Publishes the first-charge figure separately (10-12 hours, then 8-12) — a small honesty that tells you someone wrote the manual.

A reinforced iron frame rather than all-plastic, a 1.8-3.1 mph band and the first-charge figure published separately (10-12 hours, then 8-12). Someone wrote the manual.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed1.8-3.1 mph
Weight limit66 lb
Run time~1 hr
Charge time8-12 hr (first charge 10-12 hr)
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age range37-72 months (3-6 years)

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 49.0
  • Parent control8.5
  • Spec disclosure8.5
  • Longevity8.5
  • Value8.0

What works

  • Eight of nine specs published, with the first-charge case called out
  • Reinforced heavy-duty iron frame, not all-plastic
  • Rear-wheel spring suspension, adjustable belt
  • Dual 390 motors stated

What doesn’t

  • No amp-hour capacity
  • ~1 hr run time for an 8-12 hr charge
  • Age range given in months, which buries the 3-6 years it means

#5 · Best truck bed

8.2 / 10

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado

Best Choice Products

Best Choice Products 12V Chevy Silverado — Best Choice Products kids ride-on toy
$229.99View on Amazon

$269.99 list — 15% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Licensed Chevrolet with a usable truck bed, 2.5 mph and a stated one-hour run time.

Licensed Chevrolet with a bed that actually holds toys, 2.5 mph and a published one-hour run time. The bed is what makes it get used after the novelty of driving wears off.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed2.5 mph
Weight limit66 lb
Run timeUp to 1 hr
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age rangeNot stated by maker

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 48.5
  • Parent control8.5
  • Spec disclosure7.5
  • Longevity8.0
  • Value8.0

What works

  • Truck bed that actually holds toys
  • Run time published at up to 1 hr
  • Remote has forward/reverse and left/right
  • Seat harness with locking doors

What doesn’t

  • No capacity figure, so the 1 hr claim can't be cross-checked
  • No stated age range
  • 2.5 mph is at the slow end for the size

#6 · Best safety spec

8.4 / 10

SEGMART 12V Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

SEGMART

SEGMART 12V Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat — SEGMART kids ride-on toy
$129.99View on Amazon

$139.90 list — 7% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A 7Ah battery instead of the usual 4.5Ah, and the listing says so explicitly — that is the spec that buys run time.

A five-point belt and four-wheel suspension, with a 7Ah battery called out against the common 4.5Ah. The most restraint fitted to anything in our registry.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity7Ah
Top speedNot stated by maker
Weight limit66 lb
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age range3-6 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Fit at 48.5
  • Parent control8.5
  • Spec disclosure8.0
  • Longevity8.0
  • Value9.0

What works

  • 12V 7Ah battery, called out against the common 4.5Ah
  • Five-point seat belt
  • Four-wheel suspension
  • 2.4GHz parent remote with 3 speeds

What doesn’t

  • Top speed is not published, despite a 3-speed claim
  • Run time and charge time are not published
  • Licensed styling, unlicensed drivetrain

Questions parents ask

Frequently asked questions

What is the best ride-on car for a 4-year-old?
A 12V single-seater with a published 66 lb weight limit, a speed band rather than a single figure, a 7Ah battery and either a remote or a lockable low setting. The spread matters more than the maximum at this age.
Is a 6V ride-on too small for a 4-year-old?
Usually, yes. An average four-year-old is about 36 lb and 45 lb at the 90th percentile, against the 44 lb limit of most 6V quads. A larger four-year-old is already within 10% of the limit, which is where we would call the vehicle finished rather than new.
Does a 4-year-old still need a parent remote?
It is useful but no longer essential. At four a lockable low speed setting is an acceptable substitute, provided the child cannot reach the switch — which on a dashboard-mounted switch they can. A remote or a screw-in pedal limiter is the tamper-proof version.
Should I buy a two-seater for a 4-year-old?
Worth considering even for one child, because two-seat vehicles usually come with higher weight limits and wider seats — a 110 lb two-seater takes a four-year-old to nine or ten where a 66 lb single-seater stops at seven. Just check the limit covers both children if two will share.
How long will a 12V ride-on last a 4-year-old?
Three to four years on weight with a 66 lb limit. Interest often runs out sooner if the top speed is low, so a vehicle with a wide published band extends the useful period more than a higher weight limit does.

Where these numbers come from

Sources

Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.

Read next