Best Power Wheels
Best Power Wheels
Power Wheels is a specific Fisher-Price brand, and most of what sells under the phrase is not one. Here is what the genuine article actually gives you.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 19, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
Power Wheels is a specific Fisher-Price brand, and most of what sells under the phrase is not one. Here is what the genuine article actually gives you.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V Best overall | 3-7 years, genuine Power Wheels | 8.7out of 10 | $399.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery The battery to buy | Genuine Power Wheels replacement | 8.4out of 10 | $74.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Power Wheels 6V Red Replacement Battery The 6V battery | Genuine 6V Power Wheels replacement | 8.2out of 10 | $44.90Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Replacement Wheel/Tire 2-Pack for 12V Power Wheels Jeep Wrangler Wheels for Wranglers | Wrangler/Rubicon 2014+ wheels | 8.2out of 10 | $45.60Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Replacement Wheel 2-Pack for Power Wheels Jeep Hurricane / F-150 Extreme Wheels for older models | Hurricane / F-150 Extreme wheels | 8.0out of 10 | $49.85Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() SafeAMP 12V Charger for Power Wheels Gray Battery The charger | UL Listed 12V replacement | 8.5out of 10 | $13.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
“Power wheels” has become generic the way “Hoover” did, and it causes real confusion. Power Wheels is a Fisher-Price brand with its own tooling and its own parts operation; the overwhelming majority of vehicles people buy after searching the phrase are generic 12V cars from other makers.
Both can be good buys. But they are built to different standards, and the specifications show it.
The real advantage
Two things the genuine article gives you
The weight limit. The Power Wheels Jeep in our registry publishes 130 lbagainst 55 to 77 lb for a typical generic 12V car. That difference is in the frame and the gearboxes, and the practical consequence is that the vehicle is still within limit when the child is seven rather than five.
The parts. This is the bigger one over time. Our registry includes genuine replacement wheels for the Jeep Hurricane and F-150 Extreme — both long out of production — carrying real Fisher-Price part numbers. A generic 12V car with a cracked wheel hub has no part number to search and is finished. See replacement parts by brand.
The gap
No remote, and thin disclosure
Fisher-Price has never fitted a parent remote to a Power Wheels vehicle. Instead there is a two-speed system with a screw-in limiter under the pedal that physically stops it reaching the high setting.
That is genuinely more tamper-proof than a dashboard switch — a child cannot defeat it without a screwdriver — but it is not a way to stop the vehicle at a distance. For a child under five, that is a real limitation, and it is the main reason to buy a generic 12V car with a remote instead. See how the parent remote works.
Disclosure is also mixed. The vehicle publishes its weight limit, its two speeds and its age range, and does not publish run time, charge time or capacity. The genuine batteries, by contrast, publish their charge windows in unusual detail — including a separate first-charge figure.
Supply
Why there is one vehicle on this page
Worth being straightforward about: at the time of our last check, one genuine Power Wheels vehicle was available through the Amazon listings we price from, alongside several genuine batteries and parts. The famous models — the Dune Racer, the F-150 Extreme, the Wild Thing — were not buyable new.
We will not list a vehicle you cannot buy, and we will not substitute a generic car and call it a Power Wheels. What we have done instead is cover the genuine parts that keep existing Power Wheels running, and point to the alternatives that genuinely compete on specification — see Power Wheels alternatives, which is where most readers of this page should go next.
Related: Power Wheels vs Peg Perego, Power Wheels vs Best Choice Products and how long Power Wheels last.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Best overall
8.7 / 10
Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Genuine Fisher-Price Power Wheels: a 130 lb limit, a 5 mph high setting and a lockable low — the specs that made the brand the default.
130 lb on a 12V vehicle — double the class norm — with a lockable 5 mph high setting, two seats and a stated 3-7 year range. The genuine article, and the limit shows it.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.5
- Build9.0
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- 130 lb limit — the highest of any 12V vehicle here
- Two speeds with a parent-lockable high setting
- Real Power Wheels drivetrain and parts channel
- Two seats
What doesn’t
- No parent remote — Power Wheels has never fitted one
- Run time and charge time not published
- 5 mph is genuinely fast; the high-speed lock matters
#2 · The battery to buy
8.4 / 10
Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The genuine Fisher-Price gray-top 12V 12Ah pack, and the only one whose charging instructions come from the vehicle's own maker.
The genuine gray-top 12V 12Ah pack, with charging windows published including the first-charge case. Costs about double a third-party equivalent and fits for certain.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build9.0
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure8.5
What works
- Genuine Fisher-Price part — guaranteed connector fit
- 12Ah is the largest capacity Power Wheels fits
- Charge windows published, including the first-charge case
- Sold with the correct gray connector
What doesn’t
- Costs roughly twice a third-party equivalent
- An 18-hour normal charge is a long time
- Only fits vehicles that use the gray-top pack
#3 · The 6V battery
8.2 / 10
Power Wheels 6V Red Replacement Battery
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The genuine 6V red-top pack for Fisher-Price preschool and toddler ride-ons, rated at 9.5Ah.
The genuine red-top 6V pack at 9.5Ah, which is a large capacity for 6V. Correct connector, no adapter, and the charge windows are published.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build9.0
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure8.5
What works
- Genuine Fisher-Price red-top 6V pack
- 9.5Ah is a large capacity for 6V
- Correct connector, no adapter needed
- Charge windows published
What doesn’t
- Only fits the red-connector 6V vehicles
- Long charge times
- More expensive than third-party 6V packs
#4 · Wheels for Wranglers
8.2 / 10
Replacement Wheel/Tire 2-Pack for 12V Power Wheels Jeep Wrangler
Impact Battery

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Carries the Fisher-Price part number (BCK85-2659) and the model year it fits — the only way to be sure a ride-on wheel fits.
Carries the Fisher-Price part number (BCK85-2659) and the model years it fits, for 2014-on Wranglers and Rubicons. The only reliable way to buy ride-on wheels.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build8.0
- Parts channel9.5
- Spec disclosure9.0
What works
- Fisher-Price part number published, not just 'fits Power Wheels'
- Model year qualified (2014 or later)
- Sold as a pair, which is how they wear
- Direct swap, no modification
What doesn’t
- Only fits the named vehicles and years
- Dimensions and tread depth not published
- Two wheels costs a noticeable share of a cheap vehicle's price
#5 · Wheels for older models
8.0 / 10
Replacement Wheel 2-Pack for Power Wheels Jeep Hurricane / F-150 Extreme
Impact Battery

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Part number J4394-2529, for the Jeep Hurricane and F-150 Extreme — the older Power Wheels models whose wheels wear out first.
Part number J4394-2529 for the Jeep Hurricane and F-150 Extreme — both long discontinued, and still supported. That is the Power Wheels advantage in one listing.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build8.0
- Parts channel9.5
- Spec disclosure9.0
What works
- Genuine part number (J4394-2529) published
- Covers two named Power Wheels models
- Pair pricing
- Keeps an older vehicle on the road
What doesn’t
- Model-specific — no use on anything else
- No published dimensions
- Older models may need a hub retainer too
#6 · The charger
8.5 / 10
SafeAMP 12V Charger for Power Wheels Gray Battery
SafeAMP

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
UL Listed, which is the only charger spec that genuinely matters — it is plugged into a wall near a child.
UL Listed with the correct gray/orange Power Wheels connector. Independently safety-tested, which on a device that charges overnight is worth the extra three dollars.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build8.5
- Parts channel8.5
- Spec disclosure7.5
What works
- UL Listed — independently safety-tested
- Correct gray/orange Power Wheels connector
- Known brand with real support
- Direct genuine-charger replacement
What doesn’t
- Gray-connector vehicles only
- Output amperage is not published
- Costs more than unlisted no-name chargers
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Power Wheels and generic ride-on cars?
Do Power Wheels have a parent remote?
What is the weight limit on a Power Wheels?
Can you still buy Power Wheels parts?
Is a genuine Power Wheels worth the extra money?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
- CPSC — recalls and safety news
- CDC Clinical Growth Charts (weight-for-age percentiles)
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next