Power Wheels vs Peg Perego
Power Wheels vs Peg Perego
Two brands with their own tooling and real parts channels. Both publish far less than the generic market does, and one publishes almost nothing at all.
Written by
Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media
Published October 20, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing
How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.
Price checked November 8, 2026
Verdict first
Quick picks
Two brands with their own tooling and real parts channels. Both publish far less than the generic market does, and one publishes almost nothing at all.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V Power Wheels | 3-7 years, genuine Power Wheels | 8.7out of 10 | $399.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V Peg Perego | 3-8 years, two riders, build quality | 8.5out of 10 | $421.17Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V Best Peg Perego tractor | 3-7 years, build and resale | 8.5out of 10 | $280.49Amazon #ad disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery The Power Wheels part | Genuine Power Wheels replacement | 8.4out of 10 | $74.99Amazon #ad disclosure |
Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.
These are the two heritage brands in this category: Fisher-Price’s Power Wheels and Italy’s Peg Perego, both with their own tooling, both with licenses (Barbie and Jeep for one, John Deere and Case IH for the other), and both with parts operations that outlive their models.
They are more similar than different, and where they differ it is not where people expect.
The comparison
Side by side
| Power Wheels | Peg Perego | Verdict | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Max weight limit (12V) | 130 lb | 130 lb | Level |
| Specs published (of 9) | 4 | 1 – 4 | Power Wheels |
| Top speed published | Yes (2.5 / 5 mph) | No, on any model | Power Wheels |
| Build quality | Good | Best in category | Peg Perego |
| Parts availability | Excellent, by part number | Excellent, official kits | Level |
| Parent remote | Never | One model | Peg Perego, barely |
| Speed limiter | Screw-in pedal stop | Gear selection | Power Wheels |
| Resale value | Good | Best in category | Peg Perego |
Build
Peg Perego is better made
This is not controversial. Peg Perego manufactures in Italy, and the frames, gearboxes and loader buckets are noticeably more substantial than the Fisher-Price equivalents. Their tractors survive multiple children, their buckets lift actual loads, and the resale value holds in a way nothing else in this category manages.
Power Wheels is good rather than best — it is built to a US mass-market price point, and the 130 lb limit on the Jeep reflects a genuinely strong frame, but the plastics are thinner. See most durable ride-on toys.
Disclosure
Power Wheels tells you more, which is a low bar
The genuine Power Wheels vehicle in our registry publishes four of the nine specs we track: voltage, weight limit, two speeds and an age range. That is thin against the generic market, where several vehicles publish eight.
Peg Perego publishes less. Across five vehicles in our registry a typical listing gives voltage, weight limit and age range and stops — no top speed on any model, no run time, no charge time, no capacity. On one model, eight of nine fields are blank including the weight limit.
So Power Wheels wins this comparison, and both lose to a $140 generic car that publishes its run time. See best Peg Perego ride-ons.
The shared weakness
Neither has a remote
Fisher-Price has never fitted a parent remote. Peg Perego fits one on a single model in our registry. For a child under five that is the decisive gap, because the remote is the only way to stop the vehicle from where you are standing.
Power Wheels partly compensates with a screw-in pedal limiter, which is genuinely more tamper-proof than a dashboard switch — a child cannot defeat it without a screwdriver. It is a speed control, not a stopping mechanism. See how the parent remote works.
The verdict
Which to buy
Peg Perego if you want a tractor with a working loader, if the vehicle needs to pass to a second child, or if resale matters. Accept that you will not know the top speed before it arrives.
Power Wheels if you want a car or Jeep shape with a published speed and a parts channel, and you value knowing the two speed settings.
Neither if the child is under five and you want a remote, or if you want a documented specification. The generic market does both better — see Power Wheels alternatives.
Every pick in full
The picks, in detail
Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.
#1 · Power Wheels
8.7 / 10
Power Wheels JoJo Siwa Jeep Wrangler 12V
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
Genuine Fisher-Price Power Wheels: a 130 lb limit, a 5 mph high setting and a lockable low — the specs that made the brand the default.
130 lb at 12V with a lockable 5 mph high setting and a stated 3-7 range. Publishes four of nine specs, which is thin by generic standards and generous by Peg Perego's.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.5
- Build9.0
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure7.0
What works
- 130 lb limit — the highest of any 12V vehicle here
- Two speeds with a parent-lockable high setting
- Real Power Wheels drivetrain and parts channel
- Two seats
What doesn’t
- No parent remote — Power Wheels has never fitted one
- Run time and charge time not published
- 5 mph is genuinely fast; the high-speed lock matters
#2 · Peg Perego
8.5 / 10
Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V
Peg Perego

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
130 lb across two seats and a cargo bed — the Peg Perego that genuinely carries two children, and the one spec they do publish says so.
130 lb across two seats with a dump cargo bed and arguably better Italian build. Four of nine specs — no speed, no run time, no charge time, no capacity.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit9.0
- Build9.5
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure5.0
What works
- 130 lb limit over two seats, published
- Dump-style cargo bed
- Extra-large frame for 3-8s
- Best-supported two-seater here for parts
What doesn’t
- No speed, run time, charge time or capacity figure
- No parent remote
- The most expensive 12V vehicle in the registry
#3 · Best Peg Perego tractor
8.5 / 10
Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V
Peg Perego

An 85 lb limit, a trailer and Italian build — but Peg Perego publishes almost nothing else, and that is the trade.
An 85 lb limit, a trailer and an FM radio. Above every generic 12V car on weight, and silent on every performance figure.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit8.5
- Build9.5
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure5.0
What works
- 85 lb limit — above every 12V car here
- Trailer and FM radio included
- Peg Perego parts are stocked years after purchase
- Holds resale value better than unbranded rivals
What doesn’t
- Peg Perego publishes no speed, run time, charge time or capacity
- No parent remote on any Peg Perego ride-on
- Costs more than better-documented tractors
#4 · The Power Wheels part
8.4 / 10
Power Wheels 12V 12Ah Replacement Battery
Power Wheels

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded
The genuine Fisher-Price gray-top 12V 12Ah pack, and the only one whose charging instructions come from the vehicle's own maker.
The genuine gray-top 12Ah pack with charge windows published in unusual detail, including the first-charge case. Fisher-Price documents its parts better than its vehicles.
The nine specs
Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.
Our scoring
- Weight limit0.0
- Build9.0
- Parts channel10.0
- Spec disclosure8.5
What works
- Genuine Fisher-Price part — guaranteed connector fit
- 12Ah is the largest capacity Power Wheels fits
- Charge windows published, including the first-charge case
- Sold with the correct gray connector
What doesn’t
- Costs roughly twice a third-party equivalent
- An 18-hour normal charge is a long time
- Only fits vehicles that use the gray-top pack
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked questions
Is Peg Perego better than Power Wheels?
Which has a higher weight limit, Power Wheels or Peg Perego?
Do either Power Wheels or Peg Perego have parent remotes?
Which brand has better parts availability?
Which is better value, Power Wheels or Peg Perego?
Where these numbers come from
Sources
- ASTM F963 — Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety
- CPSC — recalls and safety news
- CDC Clinical Growth Charts (weight-for-age percentiles)
Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.
Read next