Skip to content
RideontoyGuide

Best Peg Perego

Best Peg Perego ride-ons

Peg Perego makes the best-built ride-ons in this category and publishes the least about them. Both halves of that sentence are true and neither is a secret.

Written by

Mike M. · owner, Iron Mako Media

Published October 23, 2026 · last updated November 8, 2026 · specs checked against each maker’s current listing

How this page is funded: we earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them — the scoring rubric is published and applied the same way to every product. Full disclosure.

Price checked November 8, 2026

Verdict first

Quick picks

Peg Perego makes the best-built ride-ons in this category and publishes the least about them. Both halves of that sentence are true and neither is a secret.. Tap any row to jump to that model’s full write-up below, or go straight to Amazon from the price column. Prices last checked November 8, 2026.

Ranked picks with each model’s score, who it suits and its current Amazon price
#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V

Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V

Best overall

3-8 years, two riders, build quality8.5out of 10$421.17Amazon

#ad disclosure

2
Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V

Best tractor

3-7 years, build and resale8.5out of 10$280.49Amazon

#ad disclosure

3
Peg Perego John Deere Farm Power 12V with Remote

Peg Perego John Deere Farm Power 12V with Remote

Best with a remote

Peg Perego build with a remote8.0out of 10$199.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

4
Peg Perego John Deere Ground Loader 12V

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Loader 12V

Best loader

3-7 years, front loader8.2out of 10$299.00Amazon

#ad disclosure

5
Peg Perego John Deere Mini Tractor 6V

Peg Perego John Deere Mini Tractor 6V

Best for toddlers

1.5-3 years, build quality8.1out of 10$99.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

6
Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego

Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego

The battery to buy

Peg Perego plug-and-play8.3out of 10$49.99Amazon

#ad disclosure

Scores are our own editorial ratings against the published rubric on how we pick. They are not customer ratings and they are not Amazon’s.

Peg Perego is the most interesting brand in this category because it is genuinely the best at the thing that matters most over five years — construction and parts — and genuinely the worst at the thing that matters most at the point of purchase, which is telling you what you are buying.

The case for

What the build quality buys

Peg Perego manufactures in Italy with its own tooling, holds the John Deere and Case IH licenses, and runs a parts operation that supplies gearboxes and batteries years after a model is discontinued — our registry includes an official Peg Perego gearbox kit for the RZR and Gator.

In practice that means three things: the frames survive multiple children, the loader buckets actually lift a load rather than being molded decorations, and the resale value holds in a way nothing generic does. A second-hand Peg Perego tractor sells for a meaningful fraction of new; a second-hand generic 12V car is usually worth its battery.

The Gator XUV is the standout on specification too: 130 lb across two seats at 12V, which is double the class norm and matches the genuine Power Wheels.

The case against

The disclosure problem

Across the five Peg Perego vehicles in our registry, a typical listing gives a voltage, a weight limit and an age range and stops. No top speed. No run time. No charge time. No amp-hour capacity.

On the Farm Power model — the one with the remote — eight of the nine fields are blank, including the weight limit, which means you cannot tell from the listing whether it fits your child.

We print every one of those as not stated by maker rather than substituting an estimate from a comparable model, because an estimate would be our invention rather than the manufacturer’s figure. On this brand, that makes the spec tables look sparse. That is accurate.

And no remote

The second limitation

Most Peg Perego vehicles have no parent remote, in common with Power Wheels. One model in our registry does, which is unusual for the brand — and it is also the model with the least published about it.

For a child under five, that combination is hard to recommend over a generic 12V car with a remote and a published spec sheet. For a child over five, where the remote matters less and the build matters more, Peg Perego becomes the better buy. See how the parent remote works.

The verdict

When to buy Peg Perego

Buy it if the child is five or over, if the vehicle needs to survive more than one child, or if you want a tractor with a loader bucket that genuinely works. The Gator at 130 lb is the best value in the range.

Buy something else if the child is under four and you want a remote, or if you need to know the top speed and run time before you commit. Both are reasonable requirements and Peg Perego does not meet them.

The head-to-head is on Power Wheels vs Peg Perego, and the tractors specifically on best ride-on tractors.

Every pick in full

The picks, in detail

Each entry below carries the same nine specifications, taken from that model’s own current listing. Rows reading not stated by maker are specs the manufacturer does not publish — we show the gap rather than filling it in.

#1 · Best overall

8.5 / 10

Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V

Peg Perego

Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12V — Peg Perego kids ride-on toy
$421.17View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

130 lb across two seats and a cargo bed — the Peg Perego that genuinely carries two children, and the one spec they do publish says so.

130 lb across two seats — double the 12V norm — with a dump cargo bed and an extra-large frame for 3-8s. Four of nine specs unpublished, which is the brand pattern.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speedNot stated by maker
Weight limit130 lb
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats2
Maker's age range3-8 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build9.5
  • Weight limit9.0
  • Parts channel10.0
  • Spec disclosure5.0

What works

  • 130 lb limit over two seats, published
  • Dump-style cargo bed
  • Extra-large frame for 3-8s
  • Best-supported two-seater here for parts

What doesn’t

  • No speed, run time, charge time or capacity figure
  • No parent remote
  • The most expensive 12V vehicle in the registry

#2 · Best tractor

8.5 / 10

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V

Peg Perego

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Force 12V — Peg Perego kids ride-on toy
$280.49View on Amazon

$299.00 list — 6% off

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

An 85 lb limit, a trailer and Italian build — but Peg Perego publishes almost nothing else, and that is the trade.

An 85 lb limit, a trailer and a working FM radio. Above every 12V car here on weight, and no published speed, run time, charge time or capacity.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speedNot stated by maker
Weight limit85 lb
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range3-7 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build9.5
  • Weight limit8.5
  • Parts channel10.0
  • Spec disclosure5.0

What works

  • 85 lb limit — above every 12V car here
  • Trailer and FM radio included
  • Peg Perego parts are stocked years after purchase
  • Holds resale value better than unbranded rivals

What doesn’t

  • Peg Perego publishes no speed, run time, charge time or capacity
  • No parent remote on any Peg Perego ride-on
  • Costs more than better-documented tractors

#3 · Best with a remote

8.0 / 10

Peg Perego John Deere Farm Power 12V with Remote

Peg Perego

Peg Perego John Deere Farm Power 12V with Remote — Peg Perego kids ride-on toy
$199.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

The rare Peg Perego with a parent remote — and still no published speed, run time or weight limit.

The rare Peg Perego with a parent remote. Eight of nine specs unpublished — the thinnest sheet in our entire registry — including the weight limit.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speedNot stated by maker
Weight limitNot stated by maker
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteYes
Seats1
Maker's age rangeNot stated by maker

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build9.0
  • Weight limit5.0
  • Parts channel10.0
  • Spec disclosure3.5

What works

  • A remote on a Peg Perego, which is unusual for the brand
  • Trailer included
  • Italian build and long parts support
  • Licensed John Deere

What doesn’t

  • Eight of nine specs unpublished — the thinnest sheet in the registry
  • You cannot confirm it fits your child from the listing
  • Priced on the brand, not the documentation

#4 · Best loader

8.2 / 10

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Loader 12V

Peg Perego

Peg Perego John Deere Ground Loader 12V — Peg Perego kids ride-on toy
$299.00View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Extra-large John Deere loader for 3-7s, bought for the build quality rather than the spec sheet, because there isn't one.

A working front loader bucket on an extra-large frame for 3-7s. Peg Perego's buckets genuinely lift a load, which the cheap ones do not.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speedNot stated by maker
Weight limitNot stated by maker
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range3-7 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build9.5
  • Weight limit5.0
  • Parts channel10.0
  • Spec disclosure4.5

What works

  • Working front loader bucket
  • Extra-large frame suits the top of the age range
  • Peg Perego durability and parts channel
  • Licensed John Deere

What doesn’t

  • Seven of nine specs unpublished
  • No weight limit, which is the spec that decides fit
  • No remote

#5 · Best for toddlers

8.1 / 10

Peg Perego John Deere Mini Tractor 6V

Peg Perego

Peg Perego John Deere Mini Tractor 6V — Peg Perego kids ride-on toy
$99.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

Italian-built and licensed John Deere, with the slowest published speed here — 1.5 mph is the right number for a one-and-a-half-year-old.

1.5 mph with a foot pedal and a 44 lb limit for 1.5-3 year olds — the slowest published speed in our registry, which at that age is exactly right.

The nine specs

Voltage6V
Battery capacityNot stated by maker
Top speed1.5 mph
Weight limit44 lb
Run timeNot stated by maker
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoteNo
Seats1
Maker's age range1.5-3 years

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build9.5
  • Weight limit5.5
  • Parts channel10.0
  • Spec disclosure5.5

What works

  • Peg Perego build quality and parts availability
  • 1.5 mph foot-pedal accelerator — genuinely toddler-paced
  • Licensed John Deere styling
  • Charger included

What doesn’t

  • Peg Perego publishes neither run time nor charge time for this model
  • No amp-hour figure, so you cannot estimate run time either
  • 44 lb limit

#6 · The battery to buy

8.3 / 10

Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego

Raion Power

Raion Power 12V 12Ah Battery for Peg Perego — Raion Power kids ride-on toy
$49.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 8, 2026 · how this is funded

A plug-and-play 12Ah replacement with the Peg Perego blue connector already fitted — no splicing.

A 12Ah replacement with the Peg Perego blue connector pre-fitted, so it is genuinely plug-and-play. Cheaper than the branded pack and the same capacity.

The nine specs

Voltage12V
Battery capacity12Ah
Top speedn/a
Weight limitn/a
Run timen/a
Charge timeNot stated by maker
Parent remoten/a
Seatsn/a
Maker's age rangen/a

Source: the manufacturer's own published specifications on the current Amazon listing.

Our scoring

  • Build8.0
  • Weight limit0.0
  • Parts channel9.0
  • Spec disclosure7.0

What works

  • Peg Perego blue plug pre-fitted — genuinely plug-and-play
  • 12Ah AGM
  • Cheaper than the Peg Perego branded pack
  • Fits across the Peg Perego 12V range

What doesn’t

  • Peg Perego-specific connector, so no use on other brands
  • Charge time not published
  • Third-party, no Peg Perego warranty

Questions parents ask

Frequently asked questions

Are Peg Perego ride-ons worth the money?
For a child over five, or if the vehicle needs to last through more than one child, yes — the frames, gearboxes and parts channel are the best here. For a child under four who needs a parent remote, a generic 12V car with published specs is the better buy.
Why does Peg Perego not publish specifications?
We do not know. A typical listing gives voltage, weight limit and age range and stops — no speed, run time, charge time or capacity. On one model eight of the nine fields are blank. We print each gap rather than estimating.
What is the highest weight limit on a Peg Perego?
130 lb on the Gator XUV, across two seats at 12V — double the 12V class norm and matching the genuine Power Wheels. The Ground Force tractor publishes 85 lb, which is still above every 12V car in our registry.
Do Peg Perego ride-ons have parent remotes?
Mostly no, in common with Power Wheels. One model in our registry does, and it is also the model with the least published about it — eight of nine specs blank, including the weight limit.
Can you buy Peg Perego replacement parts?
Yes, and it is the brand’s main advantage. Our registry includes an official Peg Perego gearbox kit for the RZR and Gator, plus plug-and-play 12Ah replacement batteries with the correct blue connector pre-fitted.

Where these numbers come from

Sources

Product specifications on this page are taken from each manufacturer’s own published listing. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the row reads “not stated by maker” rather than carrying an estimate.

Read next